/ / Toufayan | Soft Style Pita Bread Smart Pockets Original | 7.4 oz (210 g)

Toufayan | Soft Style Pita Bread Smart Pockets Original | 7.4 oz (210 g)

Contains calcium propionate

Soft pita pockets provide 4 g protein and 2 g fiber per 35 g serving. Made with enriched wheat flour and several dough improvers, gums and preservatives; contains wheat, soy and sesame.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo added nitritesNo phosphatesDairy-freeVegetarianLow sugarContains soyContains wheatContains sesame
$3.50 7.4 oz · lowest price at Qualita Mart
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
90caloriesPer serving · 1/2 Loaf (35g)
Protein
4g
Fiber
2g
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
85mg
Saturated fat
0g
From the product label
Ingredients: Enriched flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, yeast, wheat gluten, dough improver (calcium acid pyrophosphate, mono- and diglycerides, calcium propionate, potassium bicarbonate, sugar, wheat gluten, salt, fumaric acid, potassium sorbate, rice flour, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, enzymes [wheat starch, microcrystalline cellulose]), powdered cellulose, polydextrose, ground flax seeds, soybean oil, wheat protein isolate, gum blend [locust bean and xanthan gums], enzymes, sesame seeds
54 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs, 1 claim verified
Nutrition · counts 35%69
Ingredients · counts 20%54
Processing · counts 15%28
Sourcing · counts 15%40
Transparency · counts 15%62
Why it scores 54
Nutrition 69 · Compared with other grain foods: less whole grain (0%); no added sugar per 1/2 Loaf
Ingredients 54 · Soybean oil, 9th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (additive, −10); Added phosphates (additive, −10); 4 more
Processing 28 · Enriched flour with dough improvers, gums, preservatives and protein isolate
Sourcing 40 · Refined flour is the main ingredient; its source is not stated
Transparency 62 · Full ingredient list and nutrition; no ingredient-origin or growing claims
Refined enriched flour
Contains soybean oil and dough additives
Contains bioengineered food ingredients
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−36 for protein isolate, carboxymethylcellulose, added phosphates and 3 more
ClearShelf standard−10 for soybean oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Enriched flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid) Water Yeast Wheat gluten Dough improver (calcium acid pyrophosphate, mono- and diglycerides, calcium propionate, potassium bicarbonate, sugar, wheat gluten, salt, fumaric acid, potassium sorbate, rice flour, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, enzymes [wheat starch, microcrystalline cellulose]) Powdered cellulose Polydextrose Ground flax seeds Soybean oil Wheat protein isolate Gum blend [locust bean and xanthan gums] Enzymes Sesame seeds
13 ingredients 2 to watch3 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives10 additives · 2 moderate risk
Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (E466)ThickenerModerate risk
Changed gut bacteria in mice and, in a small 2022 human study, altered the gut microbiome.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (E200–E203)PreservativeLimited risk
Generally well tolerated; EFSA re-evaluated it in 2015 and kept it approved, though it can irritate sensitive skin.
Calcium propionate (E282)PreservativeLimited risk
Common bread preservative; a 2019 human study found it raised insulin-related hormones after a meal.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Mono- and diglycerides (E471)EmulsifierLimited risk
Can carry traces of trans fat; a 2023 French cohort study associated higher intake with heart disease.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Refined (enriched or bleached) flourRefined grainLimited risk
Bran and germ are removed, so it’s low in fibre; some vitamins are added back.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Locust bean gum (E410)ThickenerNo risk
A fibre from carob seeds; EFSA found no safety concern in 2017.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98