/ / Joseph's Flax Pita 3 Pack – 18 Pitas, 7g Net Carbs, 6g Protein, Vegan

Joseph's Flax Pita 3 Pack – 18 Pitas, 7g Net Carbs, 6g Protein, Vegan

Contains soybean oil

These pitas include golden flax seed and provide 6 g protein per pita. They also contain soybean oil, soy protein isolate and preservatives, along with wheat and soy ingredients.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo added nitritesNo phosphatesDairy-freeVegetarianLow sugarContains soyContains wheatContains corn
$35.19 18 pitas · lowest price at Nuvantry
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
60caloriesPer serving · 1 Pita (37g)
Protein
6g▲
Fiber
2g
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
270mg▼
Saturated fat
—
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: water, whole wheat flour, wheat gluten, oat fiber, corn starch, soy flour, soy protein isolate, enriched wheat flour [wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid], golden flax seed, yeast, soybean oil, oat bran, salt, calcium sulfate, sodium acid pyrophosphate, dextrose, sodium bicarbonate, potassium sorbate, fumaric acid, monoglyceride, sodium metabisulfite, calcium propionate, plant-based L-cysteine [microcrystalline cellulose, plant-based L-cysteine, corn starch], enzymes
49 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsMedium confidence · Scored on 8 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%55
Ingredients · counts 20%54
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%60
Why it scores 49
Nutrition 55 · Compared with other grain foods: more sodium (270 mg), more protein (6 g), less whole grain (14%); no added sugar per 1 Pita
Ingredients 54 · Soybean oil, 11th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Sulfites (additive, −10); Added phosphates (additive, −10); 4 more
Processing 30 · Uses soy protein isolate, enriched flour, soybean oil and preservatives
Sourcing 35 · Refined flour, starch and soy protein are listed; no origin or growing practices stated
Transparency 60 · Full ingredient list, though enzymes are not specified
Contains soybean oil
Contains soy protein isolate
Contains preservatives
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−36 for soy protein isolate, sulfites, added phosphates and 2 more
ClearShelf standard−10 for soybean oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Similar, for lessSame kind of food, scoring about as well or better, for less than $47.51/oz here
Kalustyan'sPita, Small White
63+14
$1.99 · $0.18/oz · 100% less per oz
Ingredients
Water Whole wheat flour Wheat gluten Oat fiber Corn starch Soy flour Soy protein isolate Enriched wheat flour [wheat flour Niacin Reduced iron Thiamine mononitrate Riboflavin Folic acid] Golden flax seed Yeast Soybean oil Oat bran Salt Calcium sulfate Sodium acid pyrophosphate Dextrose Sodium bicarbonate Potassium sorbate Fumaric acid Monoglyceride Sodium metabisulfite Calcium propionate Plant-based L-cysteine [microcrystalline cellulose Plant-based L-cysteine Corn starch] Enzymes
31 ingredients 3 to watch3 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives8 additives · 2 moderate risk
Sulfites (E220–E228)PreservativeModerate risk
Can trigger asthma-like reactions in sensitive people, which is why they must be declared on labels.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (E200–E203)PreservativeLimited risk
Generally well tolerated; EFSA re-evaluated it in 2015 and kept it approved, though it can irritate sensitive skin.
Calcium propionate (E282)PreservativeLimited risk
Common bread preservative; a 2019 human study found it raised insulin-related hormones after a meal.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Refined (enriched or bleached) flourRefined grainLimited risk
Bran and germ are removed, so it’s low in fibre; some vitamins are added back.
Soy protein isolateProtein isolateLimited risk
Highly processed protein extracted with solvents; a marker of ultra-processed food.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98