/ / Ouma Chunky Buttermilk Rusks 500g

Ouma Chunky Buttermilk Rusks 500g

Contains palm fat, TBHQ

These crisp rusks contain 3% buttermilk powder. They also contain sugar, palm fat and TBHQ; the label lists wheat, milk and soya, and notes a factory that uses peanuts and eggs.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gums or thickenersVegetarianContains dairyContains soyContains wheat
$10.50 500 g · lowest price at South African Food, Biltong & Groceries in the USA | Dutchy’s
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
—caloriesPer 100 g
Protein
9.1g
Fiber
3.3g▼
Added sugar
—▼
Sodium
619mg▼
Saturated fat
6.8g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: wheat flour, sugar, vegetable fat (palm fruit, TBHQ), buttermilk powder (3%) (cow’s milk), raising agents (E450, E500, E170), flavourings (cow’s milk, soya), salt
On Open Food FactsNutri-Score ENOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
47 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as snacks, sweets, dessertsMedium confidence · Scored on 8 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 30%49
Ingredients · counts 30%60
Processing · counts 25%30
Sourcing · counts 5%35
Transparency · counts 10%52
Why it scores 47
Nutrition 49 · Compared with other snacks and sweets: more sodium (619 mg), less fiber (3.3 g); 18 g added sugar per 100g
Ingredients 60 · Sugar, 2nd ingredient (added sugar, −20); TBHQ (additive, −10); Wheat flour (refined starch, −6); 1 more
Processing 30 · Refined flour and sugar with palm fat, TBHQ, raising agents and flavourings
Sourcing 35 · Refined flour, sugar and palm fat; no ingredient origin or growing practices stated
Transparency 52 · Ingredients are listed, but flavourings are not specified
17.9 g sugars per 100 g
Contains palm fat and TBHQ
619 mg sodium per 100 g
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−26 for sugar, wheat flour
Varies by additive−14 for tbhq, natural flavours
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Wheat flour Sugar Vegetable fat (palm fruit, TBHQ) Buttermilk powder (3%) (cow’s milk) Raising agents (E450, E500, E170) Flavourings (cow’s milk, soya) Salt
7 ingredients 1 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives3 additives · 1 moderate risk
TBHQ (E319)PreservativeModerate risk
Synthetic antioxidant; animal studies at high doses raise questions, and EFSA sets a low acceptable daily intake.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00