/ / Popchips, Original, Sea Salt & Vinegar, 5 oz (142 g)

Popchips, Original, Sea Salt & Vinegar, 5 oz (142 g)

Contains seed oils

These potato snacks are popped with heat and pressure rather than deep-fried. They contain sunflower, safflower and/or canola oil, plus tapioca maltodextrin and natural flavors.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesCertified gluten-freeDairy-freeVegan
$4.14 5 oz · lowest price at Vitacost
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
120caloriesPer serving · 1oz (28g)
Protein
1g
Fiber
1g▼
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
230mg▼
Saturated fat
0g▲
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Potato, rice flour, vegetable oil (sunflower, safflower, and/or expeller pressed canola), potato starch, tapioca maltodextrin, tapioca syrup, sea salt, malic acid, vinegar, natural flavors
On Open Food FactsNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
50 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as snacks, sweets, dessertsHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs, 4 claims verified
Nutrition · counts 30%64
Ingredients · counts 30%60
Processing · counts 25%25
Sourcing · counts 5%35
Transparency · counts 10%50
Why it scores 50
Nutrition 64 · Compared with other snacks and sweets: more sodium (230 mg), less saturated fat (0 g), less fiber (1 g); no added sugar per 1oz
Ingredients 60 · Vegetable oil, 3rd ingredient (seed oil, −18, ClearShelf standard); Rice flour (refined starch, −6); Potato starch (refined starch, −6); 2 more
Processing 25 · Popped potato snack with starches, tapioca syrup, seed oils and natural flavors
Sourcing 35 · Refined starches and vegetable oils; no origin or growing practices stated
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but natural flavors are not specified
Contains sunflower, safflower and/or canola oil
Contains natural flavors
Contains tapioca maltodextrin
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−18 for rice flour, potato starch, maltodextrin
Varies by additive−4 for natural flavours
ClearShelf standard−18 for vegetable oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 24, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Potato Rice flour Vegetable oil (sunflower, safflower, and/or expeller pressed canola) Potato starch Tapioca maltodextrin Tapioca syrup Sea salt Malic acid Vinegar Natural flavors
10 ingredients 3 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives5 additives · 4 limited risk
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
MaltodextrinFillerLimited risk
Highly processed starch that raises blood sugar quickly and adds no nutrition.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Malic acid (E296)AcidNo risk
The natural acid in apples; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00