/ / Bob's Red Mill, Biscuit & Baking Mix, Gluten Free , 24 oz (680 g)

Bob's Red Mill, Biscuit & Baking Mix, Gluten Free , 24 oz (680 g)

Contains xanthan gum

This baking mix is tested and confirmed gluten-free. It contains potato and tapioca starch, xanthan gum, and 1 g added sugar per serving.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesGluten-free (label)Dairy-freeContains corn
$6.45 24 oz (680 g) · lowest price at Vitacost
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
140caloriesPer serving · 1/4 cup mix (40g)
Protein
2g
Fiber
1g▼
Added sugar
1g
Sodium
310mg▼
Saturated fat
0g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Sweet white rice flour, whole grain brown rice flour, potato starch, whole grain sorghum flour, tapioca flour, xanthan gum, cornstarch, sodium bicarbonate, monocalcium phosphate, sugar, salt, baking soda
On Open Food FactsNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
58 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%47
Ingredients · counts 20%90
Processing · counts 15%55
Sourcing · counts 15%40
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 58
Nutrition 47 · Compared with other grain foods: more sodium (310 mg), less fiber (1 g) per 1/4 cup mix
Ingredients 90 · Added phosphates (additive, −10); no dyes or artificial sweeteners
Processing 55 · Flour and starch mix with xanthan gum, baking powder and sugar
Sourcing 40 · Rice flours and starches are listed, but their origins are not stated
Transparency 65 · Complete ingredient list; no specific sourcing or growing claims
1 g added sugar
Contains xanthan gum
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−10 for added phosphates
Scored Oct 21, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Sweet white rice flour Whole grain brown rice flour Potato starch Whole grain sorghum flour Tapioca flour Xanthan gum Cornstarch Sodium bicarbonate Monocalcium phosphate Sugar Salt Baking soda
12 ingredients 4 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives3 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98