/ / Meat Mitch Steer Season Rub

Meat Mitch Steer Season Rub

Contains sunflower oil

This beef-focused rub has a full ingredient list and was used in a 1st-place Memphis in May beef entry. It contains sugar, brown sugar, sunflower oil and flavor enhancers.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gums or thickenersNo gluten ingredients
$8.99 lowest price at DDR BBQ Supply
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts

Not available yet. We only show numbers printed on the product’s label or its product page, and we couldn’t read them for this product.

Ingredients: salt, spices (including chili pepper, paprika, turmeric), sugar, brown sugar, yeast extract, dehydrated garlic, dehydrated onion, extractives of paprika (color), disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate, sunflower oil, calcium silicate
On Open Food FactsNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
50 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as salt, spices, baking staplesLow confidence · Scored on 2 of 11 inputs
Nutrition facts not available. Scored on its ingredients, processing, sourcing and transparency; the Nutrition part is neutral until we can read the label.Your product? Claim this listing to add the label and it’s scored in full.
Nutrition · counts 5%50
Ingredients · counts 45%54
Processing · counts 20%35
Sourcing · counts 10%40
Transparency · counts 20%62
Why it scores 50
Nutrition 50 · Used in small amounts, so nutrition barely counts
Ingredients 54 · Sugar, 3rd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Sunflower oil, 11th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Brown sugar, 4th ingredient (added sugar, −8); 2 more
Processing 35 · Sugar, flavor enhancers, color extract and anti-caking agent are added.
Sourcing 40 · Salt, sugar and sunflower oil are listed; their origins are not stated.
Transparency 62 · Full ingredient list, though some spices are grouped together.
Contains sunflower oil
Contains sugar and brown sugar
Contains disodium inosinate and disodium guanylate
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−28 for sugar, brown sugar
Varies by additive−8 for disodium inosinate or guanylate, yeast extract or hydrolysed protein
ClearShelf standard−10 for sunflower oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Salt Spices (including chili pepper, paprika, turmeric) Sugar Brown sugar Yeast extract Dehydrated garlic Dehydrated onion Extractives of paprika (color) Disodium inosinate Disodium guanylate Sunflower oil Calcium silicate
12 ingredients 2 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives4 additives · 4 limited risk
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Disodium inosinate or guanylate (E627, E631)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Usually paired with MSG; a source of purines, which people with gout are told to limit.
Yeast extract or hydrolysed proteinFlavour enhancerLimited risk
Contains free glutamate, the flavour-enhancing part of MSG, without being labelled as MSG.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98