/ / Classic Chicken

Classic Chicken

Contains natural flavors

This low-calorie broth has 14 calories per serving and is hand-packed into tea bags. It contains canola oil, natural flavors and 570 mg of sodium per serving.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gums or thickenersNo gluten ingredientsDairy-free
$7.99 lowest price at The Art of Broth
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
14caloriesPer serving · 242g
Protein
<1g
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
1g
Sodium
570mg▲
Saturated fat
0g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Salt, Yeast Extract, Maltodextrin, Sugar, Onion Powder, Canola Oil, Carrot Powder, Dextrose, Turmeric, Natural Flavors
65 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as ready meals, soups, saucesHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs, 2 claims verified
Nutrition · counts 35%86
Ingredients · counts 25%74
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 10%40
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 65
Nutrition 86 · Compared with other ready meals and sauces: less sodium (570 mg) per 242g
Ingredients 74 · Canola oil, 6th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Sugar, 4th ingredient (added sugar, −8); Natural flavours (additive, −4); 1 more
Processing 30 · Maltodextrin, dextrose and natural flavors make this a formulated broth
Sourcing 40 · Refined ingredients are listed, but their origins are not stated
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list includes unnamed natural flavors
Contains canola oil
1 g added sugar
570 mg sodium per serving
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−8 for sugar
Varies by additive−8 for natural flavours, yeast extract or hydrolysed protein
ClearShelf standard−10 for canola oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Salt Yeast Extract Maltodextrin Sugar Onion Powder Canola Oil Carrot Powder Dextrose Turmeric Natural Flavors
10 ingredients 3 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives5 additives · 5 limited risk
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
MaltodextrinFillerLimited risk
Highly processed starch that raises blood sugar quickly and adds no nutrition.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Yeast extract or hydrolysed proteinFlavour enhancerLimited risk
Contains free glutamate, the flavour-enhancing part of MSG, without being labelled as MSG.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98