/ / Betty Crocker Angel Food Cake Mix Confetti 430g

Betty Crocker Angel Food Cake Mix Confetti 430g

Contains artificial flavour

This cake mix has 22 g of sugar and 310 mg of sodium per 36 g serving. It contains artificial flavour and several synthetic colours.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesDairy-freeVegetarianContains eggsContains wheatContains corn
$10.79 430 g · lowest price at CanadaGroceryStore
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
140caloriesPer serving · Per 1/12 package (36 g)
Protein
3g
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
—
Sodium
310mg
Saturated fat
0g
From the product label
Ingredients: Sugars (sugar, icing sugar), Enriched wheat flour, Dried egg white (contains sodium lauryl sulfate), Corn starch, Coloured bits (sugar, corn syrup, corn cereal, corn starch, palm oil, sunset yellow FCF, allura red, brilliant blue FCF, tartrazine), Baking soda, Citric acid, Dicalcium phosphate, Salt, Cellulose gum, Artificial flavour, Wheat starch
28 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as salt, spices, baking staplesHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 5%50
Ingredients · counts 45%12
Processing · counts 20%25
Sourcing · counts 10%35
Transparency · counts 20%60
Why it scores 28
Nutrition 50 · Used in small amounts, so nutrition barely counts
Ingredients 12 · Sugar, 1st ingredient (added sugar, −20); Red 40 (synthetic dye, −15); Yellow 5 (synthetic dye, −15); 4 more
Processing 25 · Refined flour, sugars, starches, colours, gum and artificial flavour
Sourcing 35 · Refined flour, sugars and starches; no ingredient origin or growing practices stated
Transparency 60 · Full ingredient list, but artificial flavour is not specified
Contains artificial flavour and synthetic colours
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−28 for sugar
Moderate, evolving−30 for red 40, yellow 5
Varies by additive−30 for carboxymethylcellulose, added phosphates, artificial flavours
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Sugars (sugar, icing sugar) Enriched wheat flour Dried egg white (contains sodium lauryl sulfate) Corn starch Coloured bits (sugar, corn syrup, corn cereal, corn starch, palm oil, sunset yellow FCF, allura red, brilliant blue FCF, tartrazine) Baking soda Citric acid Dicalcium phosphate Salt Cellulose gum Artificial flavour Wheat starch
12 ingredients 4 to watch4 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives11 additives · 6 moderate risk
Red 40 (Allura red) (E129)ColourModerate risk
Linked to hyperactivity in some children in a 2007 UK study; in the EU it must carry a warning label.
Yellow 5 (tartrazine) (E102)ColourModerate risk
Linked to hyperactivity in some children in a 2007 UK study, and can cause reactions in sensitive people; EU warning label.
Yellow 6 (sunset yellow) (E110)ColourModerate risk
Linked to hyperactivity in some children in a 2007 UK study; in the EU it must carry a warning label.
Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (E466)ThickenerModerate risk
Changed gut bacteria in mice and, in a small 2022 human study, altered the gut microbiome.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Artificial flavoursFlavouringModerate risk
Undisclosed synthetic compounds; the FDA delisted seven synthetic flavours in 2018 after cancer findings in animals.
Blue 1 (brilliant blue) (E133)ColourLimited risk
Synthetic dye; approved in the US and EU with few safety concerns at permitted levels, and adds no nutrition.
Palm oilFatLimited risk
High in saturated fat, and refining can form contaminants (glycidyl esters) that EFSA flagged in 2016.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Refined (enriched or bleached) flourRefined grainLimited risk
Bran and germ are removed, so it’s low in fibre; some vitamins are added back.
Citric acid (E330)AcidNo risk
Usually made by fermentation; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98