/ / Birch Benders Pancake & Waffle Mix Complete Gluten Free 6/14 OZ [UNFI #1601293] [ebt]

Birch Benders Pancake & Waffle Mix Complete Gluten Free 6/14 OZ [UNFI #1601293] [ebt]

Contains natural flavor

This gluten-free mix uses rice and oat flours with buttermilk. Each serving has 4 g added sugar and contains milk, guar gum and natural flavor.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesCertified gluten-freeVegetarianContains dairy
$40.35 14 oz · lowest price at Weavers Way Provisions
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
140caloriesPer serving · 1/4 Cup (40g)
Protein
3g
Fiber
1g▼
Added sugar
4g▼
Sodium
330mg▼
Saturated fat
0g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: White rice flour, brown rice flour, potato starch, oat flour, cane sugar, tapioca starch, dried buttermilk, leavening (calcium phosphate, baking soda), salt, guar gum, natural flavor
On Open Food FactsNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
49 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%37
Ingredients · counts 20%78
Processing · counts 15%35
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 49
Nutrition 37 · Compared with other grain foods: more sodium (330 mg), less fiber (1 g); 4 g added sugar per 1/4 Cup
Ingredients 78 · Added phosphates (additive, −10); Cane sugar, 5th ingredient (added sugar, −8); Natural flavours (additive, −4)
Processing 35 · Flours and starches are combined with guar gum and natural flavor
Sourcing 35 · Refined flours, starches and sugar; sourcing is not stated
Transparency 65 · Complete ingredient list; no specific sourcing claims
4 g added sugar per serving
Contains natural flavor and guar gum
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−8 for cane sugar
Varies by additive−14 for added phosphates, natural flavours
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Better swapsCleaner pantry options that do the same job
TPSS Provisions One Degree Organic Foods Sprouted Steel Cut Oats 4/24 OZ [UNFI #2090868] [ebt]
96 +47 No natural flavor and guar gum
Ingredients
White rice flour Brown rice flour Potato starch Oat flour Cane sugar Tapioca starch Dried buttermilk Leavening (calcium phosphate, baking soda) Salt Guar gum Natural flavor
11 ingredients 5 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives4 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Guar gum (E412)ThickenerNo risk
A fibre from guar beans; EFSA considers it safe at normal intakes.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98