/ / Betty Crocker Gluten Free Whipped Frosting Buttercream, 340g

Betty Crocker Gluten Free Whipped Frosting Buttercream, 340g

Contains high maltose corn syrup

This gluten-free whipped frosting has 20 g total sugar per 3-tablespoon serving. It also contains palm shortening, preservatives, flavourings and artificial colours.

Seed-oil freeNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gluten ingredientsVegetarianLow sodiumContains corn
$7.59 340 g · lowest price at CanadaGroceryStore
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
160caloriesPer serving · Per 3 Tablespoons (35 g)
Protein
0g▼
Fiber
0g▼
Added sugar
—▼
Sodium
40mg▲
Saturated fat
4.5g▼
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Sugars (sugar, high maltose corn syrup), palm shortening, water, corn starch, cellulose gel, salt, potassium sorbate, polysorbate 80, sodium acid pyrophosphate, cellulose gum, natural and artificial flavour, citric acid, tartrazine, caramel colour, sunset yellow FCF
On Open Food FactsNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
20 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as snacks, sweets, dessertsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 30%23
Ingredients · counts 30%0
Processing · counts 25%25
Sourcing · counts 5%35
Transparency · counts 10%50
Why it scores 20
Nutrition 23 · Compared with other snacks and sweets: more saturated fat (4.5 g), less fiber (0 g); 57 g added sugar per 3 Tablespoons
Ingredients 0 · Sugar, 1st ingredient (added sugar, −20); Yellow 5 (synthetic dye, −15); Yellow 6 (synthetic dye, −15); 7 more
Processing 25 · Sugars, emulsifiers, preservatives, flavourings and artificial colours.
Sourcing 35 · Refined sugars, corn syrup and starch; ingredient origins aren't stated.
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but flavourings are not specified.
20 g total sugar per serving
Contains palm shortening
Contains artificial colours
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−26 for sugar, corn starch
Moderate, evolving−30 for yellow 5, yellow 6
Varies by additive−48 for polysorbate 80, carboxymethylcellulose, added phosphates and 3 more
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Similar, for lessSame kind of food, scoring about as well or better, for less than $0.63/oz here
CozvioMiss Jones Baking Organic Buttercream Frosting
55+35
$3.36 · $0.30/oz · 53% less per oz
Ingredients
Sugars (sugar, high maltose corn syrup) Palm shortening Water Corn starch Cellulose gel Salt Potassium sorbate Polysorbate 80 Sodium acid pyrophosphate Cellulose gum Natural and artificial flavour Citric acid Tartrazine Caramel colour Sunset yellow FCF
15 ingredients 2 to watch3 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives10 additives · 6 moderate risk
Yellow 5 (tartrazine) (E102)ColourModerate risk
Linked to hyperactivity in some children in a 2007 UK study, and can cause reactions in sensitive people; EU warning label.
Yellow 6 (sunset yellow) (E110)ColourModerate risk
Linked to hyperactivity in some children in a 2007 UK study; in the EU it must carry a warning label.
Polysorbate 80 (E433)EmulsifierModerate risk
Mouse studies (Nature, 2015) linked it to gut-lining inflammation and changes in gut bacteria.
Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (E466)ThickenerModerate risk
Changed gut bacteria in mice and, in a small 2022 human study, altered the gut microbiome.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Artificial flavoursFlavouringModerate risk
Undisclosed synthetic compounds; the FDA delisted seven synthetic flavours in 2018 after cancer findings in animals.
Caramel colour (E150)ColourLimited risk
Some types (E150c, E150d) can contain 4-MEI, which IARC lists as possibly carcinogenic (Group 2B); levels are regulated.
Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (E200–E203)PreservativeLimited risk
Generally well tolerated; EFSA re-evaluated it in 2015 and kept it approved, though it can irritate sensitive skin.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Citric acid (E330)AcidNo risk
Usually made by fermentation; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00