/ / 6 Cans of Swanson Chicken á la King with White and Dark Meat Chicken, 10.5 oz

6 Cans of Swanson Chicken á la King with White and Dark Meat Chicken, 10.5 oz

Contains modified food starch

This chicken-and-vegetable entrée has a complete ingredient list and chicken raised with no antibiotics. Each can has 1,320 mg sodium and contains modified starch and soy protein isolates.

No added sugarNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesLow sugarContains dairyContains soyContains wheat
$37.95 10.5 oz · lowest price at buync.com
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
260caloriesPer serving · 1 container
Protein
12g
Fiber
2g
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
1320mg▲
Saturated fat
3g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Chicken Stock, Chicken Meat, Mushrooms, Modified Food Starch, Water, Vegetable Oil, Red Peppers, Wheat Flour, Contains Less Than 2% Of: Salt, Chicken Fat, Green Peppers, Soy Protein Concentrate, Reconstituted Skim Milk, Dehydrated Cream, Yeast Extract, Sodium Phosphate, Natural Flavoring, Soy Protein Isolate, Beta Carotene For Color, Dehydrated Chicken, Sunflower Lecithin, Turmeric Extract For Color, Paprika Extract For Color
65 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as ready meals, soups, saucesMedium confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%77
Ingredients · counts 25%64
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 10%70
Transparency · counts 15%72
Why it scores 65
Nutrition 77 · Compared with other ready meals and sauces: less sodium (1320 mg); no added sugar per 1 container
Ingredients 64 · Vegetable oil, 6th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Added phosphates (additive, −10); Soy Protein Concentrate (additive, −4); 3 more
Processing 30 · Modified starch, soy protein isolates and flavoring in a formulated meal
Sourcing 70 · Chicken is raised with no antibiotics; origin and farm are not stated
Transparency 72 · Complete ingredient list and a specific chicken-raising claim
1,320 mg sodium per can
Contains modified starch, soy protein isolates and natural flavoring
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−26 for soy protein concentrate, added phosphates, natural flavours and 2 more
ClearShelf standard−10 for vegetable oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Better swapsCleaner pantry options that do the same job
Everywhere Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 +33 No modified starch, soy protein isolates and natural flavoring
Juneau Natural Bobs Red Mill Steel Cut Oats - 24 OZ
96 +31 No modified starch, soy protein isolates and natural flavoring
The Downtown Farm Stand Black Beans, Organic, Canned, Omena Organics Michigan, 15 oz
79 +14 No modified starch, soy protein isolates and natural flavoring
Ingredients
Chicken Stock Chicken Meat Mushrooms Modified Food Starch Water Vegetable Oil Red Peppers Wheat Flour Contains Less Than 2% Of: Salt Chicken Fat Green Peppers Soy Protein Concentrate Reconstituted Skim Milk Dehydrated Cream Yeast Extract Sodium Phosphate Natural Flavoring Soy Protein Isolate Beta Carotene For Color Dehydrated Chicken Sunflower Lecithin Turmeric Extract For Color Paprika Extract For Color
23 ingredients 3 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives7 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Modified starch (E14xx)ThickenerLimited risk
Chemically treated starch; considered safe, but a marker of more processed food.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Yeast extract or hydrolysed proteinFlavour enhancerLimited risk
Contains free glutamate, the flavour-enhancing part of MSG, without being labelled as MSG.
Soy protein isolateProtein isolateLimited risk
Highly processed protein extracted with solvents; a marker of ultra-processed food.
Lecithin (E322)EmulsifierNo risk
From soy or sunflower; a natural emulsifier EFSA considers safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98