/ / Knorr Chicken Flavor Bouillon 6 Cubes 2.2oz

Knorr Chicken Flavor Bouillon 6 Cubes 2.2oz

Contains hydrogenated palm oil

These cubes dissolve into broth or can be crumbled into soups, rice and marinades. Each half-cube serving has 870 mg sodium and includes MSG, natural flavor and hydrogenated palm oil.

No artificial flavorsNo added nitritesNo gluten ingredientsDairy-freeContains soyContains corn
$2.99 2.2 oz · lowest price at A&E Foodstore
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
15caloriesPer serving · 1/2 cube (5g)
Protein
1g▲
Fiber
—
Added sugar
—
Sodium
870mg▼
Saturated fat
0.5g▼
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: SALT, MONOSODIUM GLUTAMATE, VEGETABLE OIL SHORTENING (PALM STEARIN, HYDROGENATED PALM OIL, TBHQ [TO PROTECT QUALITY]), SUGAR, HYDROLYZED CORN PROTEIN, AUTOLYZED YEAST EXTRACT (SOY), CHICKEN FAT, WATER, CORN STARCH, MALTODEXTRIN, DISODIUM INOSINATE, NATURAL FLAVOR, CARAMEL COLOR (SULFITES), SPICE, CHICKEN MEAT, TRICALCIUM PHOSPHATE, CITRIC ACID, TARTARIC ACID
26 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as ready meals, soups, saucesMedium confidence · Scored on 7 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%30
Ingredients · counts 25%2
Processing · counts 15%25
Sourcing · counts 10%35
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 26
Nutrition 30 · Compared with other ready meals and sauces: more sodium (870 mg), more saturated fat (0.5 g), more protein (1 g) per 1/2 cube
Ingredients 2 · Vegetable oil shortening (hydrogenated oil, −40); TBHQ (additive, −10); Sulfites (additive, −10); 7 more
Processing 25 · Hydrogenated palm oil, flavorings and several additives make this highly formulated
Sourcing 35 · Refined ingredients including palm oil, sugar and corn starch have no sourcing details
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but natural flavor and spice are not specified
870 mg sodium per half cube
Contains hydrogenated palm oil
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−48 for vegetable oil shortening, sugar
Varies by additive−50 for tbhq, sulfites, added phosphates and 5 more
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Similar, for lessSame kind of food, scoring about as well or better, for less than $1.36/oz here
Lili MartKnorr Chicken Bouillon Cubes (6pc) - 2.2.oz
32+6
$1.49 · $0.68/oz · 50% less per oz
A&E FoodstoreKnorr Beef Bouillon Cubes 63g
30+4
$1.69 · $0.76/oz · 44% less per oz
Ingredients
SALT MONOSODIUM GLUTAMATE VEGETABLE OIL SHORTENING (PALM STEARIN, HYDROGENATED PALM OIL, TBHQ [TO PROTECT QUALITY]) SUGAR HYDROLYZED CORN PROTEIN AUTOLYZED YEAST EXTRACT (SOY) CHICKEN FAT WATER CORN STARCH MALTODEXTRIN DISODIUM INOSINATE NATURAL FLAVOR CARAMEL COLOR (SULFITES) SPICE CHICKEN MEAT TRICALCIUM PHOSPHATE CITRIC ACID TARTARIC ACID
18 ingredients 3 to watch4 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives14 additives · 1 high risk
Hydrogenated oilFatHigh risk
Partially hydrogenated oils are a source of artificial trans fat, which the FDA removed from the safe list in 2015.
TBHQ (E319)PreservativeModerate risk
Synthetic antioxidant; animal studies at high doses raise questions, and EFSA sets a low acceptable daily intake.
Sulfites (E220–E228)PreservativeModerate risk
Can trigger asthma-like reactions in sensitive people, which is why they must be declared on labels.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Caramel colour (E150)ColourLimited risk
Some types (E150c, E150d) can contain 4-MEI, which IARC lists as possibly carcinogenic (Group 2B); levels are regulated.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Palm oilFatLimited risk
High in saturated fat, and refining can form contaminants (glycidyl esters) that EFSA flagged in 2016.
MaltodextrinFillerLimited risk
Highly processed starch that raises blood sugar quickly and adds no nutrition.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
MSG (monosodium glutamate) (E621)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Considered safe; EFSA set an acceptable daily intake in 2017, and some people report short-lived symptoms.
Disodium inosinate or guanylate (E627, E631)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Usually paired with MSG; a source of purines, which people with gout are told to limit.
Yeast extract or hydrolysed proteinFlavour enhancerLimited risk
Contains free glutamate, the flavour-enhancing part of MSG, without being labelled as MSG.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Citric acid (E330)AcidNo risk
Usually made by fermentation; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98