/ / Brioche Loaf

Brioche Loaf

Contains canola oil

A sliced brioche loaf made with rice flour, corn and tapioca starches. It also contains canola oil, added sugars, gums and preservatives.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gluten ingredientsDairy-freeVegetarianContains eggsContains corn
$8.99 lowest price at Promise Gluten Free US
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
80caloriesPer serving · 1 slice (40 g)
Protein
2g
Fiber
3g
Added sugar
—▼
Sodium
240mg▼
Saturated fat
0g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From Open Food Facts (by barcode)
Ingredients: Water, rice flour, corn starch, tapioca starch, sugars (sugar, concentrated grape juice), canola oil, yeast, whole grain corn flour, powdered egg white, psyllium seed husk powder, sugar cane fiber, glycerol, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, liquid whole egg, potato starch, xanthan gum, salt, guar gum, white vinegar, natural flavor, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, sodium propionate, rice starch, sorbic acid, rice bran, methyl cellulose, carotene, sodium carbonate
48 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%55
Ingredients · counts 20%56
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 48
Nutrition 55 · Compared with other grain foods: more sodium (240 mg), less whole grain (14%); 5 g added sugar per 1 slice
Ingredients 56 · Canola oil, 6th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (additive, −10); Sugar, 5th ingredient (added sugar, −8); 4 more
Processing 30 · Refined starches, gums, flavoring and preservatives make this highly formulated.
Sourcing 35 · Refined starches and canola oil are used; ingredient sourcing is not stated.
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but natural flavor is unspecified.
Contains canola oil
Contains added sugars
Contains gums and preservatives
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−8 for sugar
Varies by additive−26 for carboxymethylcellulose, sorbates, calcium propionate and 2 more
ClearShelf standard−10 for canola oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 23, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Water Rice flour Corn starch Tapioca starch Sugars (sugar, concentrated grape juice) Canola oil Yeast Whole grain corn flour Powdered egg white Psyllium seed husk powder Sugar cane fiber Glycerol Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose Liquid whole egg Potato starch Xanthan gum Salt Guar gum White vinegar Natural flavor Sodium carboxymethyl cellulose Sodium propionate Rice starch Sorbic acid Rice bran Methyl cellulose Carotene Sodium carbonate
28 ingredients 9 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives9 additives · 1 moderate risk
Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (E466)ThickenerModerate risk
Changed gut bacteria in mice and, in a small 2022 human study, altered the gut microbiome.
Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (E200–E203)PreservativeLimited risk
Generally well tolerated; EFSA re-evaluated it in 2015 and kept it approved, though it can irritate sensitive skin.
Calcium propionate (E282)PreservativeLimited risk
Common bread preservative; a 2019 human study found it raised insulin-related hormones after a meal.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Methylcellulose (E461)ThickenerLimited risk
Plant-fibre thickener common in meat alternatives; considered safe, a marker of processed food.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Guar gum (E412)ThickenerNo risk
A fibre from guar beans; EFSA considers it safe at normal intakes.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98