/ / Bobs Red Mill Gluten Free Pancake Mix 4/24 OZ [UNFI #78354]

Bobs Red Mill Gluten Free Pancake Mix 4/24 OZ [UNFI #78354]

Contains added sugar

This gluten-free mix uses a flour blend of rice, sorghum and tapioca, with baking powder and xanthan gum. Each 1/4-cup serving has 5 g added sugar and 320 mg sodium.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesGluten-free (label)Dairy-freeContains corn
$21.43 24 oz · lowest price at Breadroot Provisions
Price and stock checked Oct 31, 2026
Key nutrition facts
140caloriesPer serving · 1/4 cup (40g)
Protein
2g
Fiber
1g▼
Added sugar
5g▼
Sodium
320mg▼
Saturated fat
0g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Gluten Free Flour Blend (Brown Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Pearled White Sorghum Flour, Tapioca Flour, Sweet White Rice Flour), Sugar, Baking Powder (Cornstarch, Sodium Bicarbonate, Monocalcium Phosphate), Sea Salt, Xanthan Gum
On Open Food FactsNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
47 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%27
Ingredients · counts 20%70
Processing · counts 15%55
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 47
Nutrition 27 · Compared with other grain foods: more sodium (320 mg), less fiber (1 g); 5 g added sugar per 1/4 cup
Ingredients 70 · Sugar, 2nd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Added phosphates (additive, −10); no dyes or artificial sweeteners
Processing 55 · Flour blend, sugar, baking powder and xanthan gum form a processed mix
Sourcing 35 · Refined starches and sugar are listed; sourcing is not stated
Transparency 65 · Complete ingredient list and nutrition values; no sourcing claims
5 g added sugar
Xanthan gum
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−20 for sugar
Varies by additive−10 for added phosphates
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Gluten Free Flour Blend (Brown Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Pearled White Sorghum Flour, Tapioca Flour, Sweet White Rice Flour) Sugar Baking Powder (Cornstarch, Sodium Bicarbonate, Monocalcium Phosphate) Sea Salt Xanthan Gum
5 ingredients 3 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives3 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98