/ / House Foods Vermont Curry Medium Hot Flavor, 12 Servings - 230g

House Foods Vermont Curry Medium Hot Flavor, 12 Servings - 230g

Contains palm and canola oils

This medium-hot curry roux makes a smooth, thick curry. Each 19 g serving has 880 mg sodium and 2 g added sugar; the ingredients also include palm and canola oils, flavorings and MSG.

No synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesVegetarianLow sugarContains dairyContains soyContains wheatContains corn
$5.99 230 g · lowest price at ding-go
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
100caloriesPer serving · 1/12 package (19g)
Protein
1g
Fiber
<1g▲
Added sugar
2g▼
Sodium
880mg▼
Saturated fat
4g▼
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Vegetable oil (palm oil, canola oil, soy lecithin), wheat flour, sugar, salt, corn starch, curry powder (spices, garlic), sugar and milk powder mixture (sugar, whole milk powder, salt, skim milk powder), caramel color, monosodium glutamate, whole milk powder, defatted soybean, yeast extract, natural and artificial flavors, honey, cheese product (dextrin, enzyme modified cheese [cheese (pasteurized milk, cheese cultures, salt, enzymes), whole milk powder, salt], yeast extract, corn starch, salt), soy lecithin, roasted onion powder (onion flake, dextrin, natural flavor), onion season…
On Open Food FactsNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
28 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as ready meals, soups, saucesHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%18
Ingredients · counts 25%36
Processing · counts 15%25
Sourcing · counts 10%35
Transparency · counts 15%35
Why it scores 28
Nutrition 18 · Compared with other ready meals and sauces: more sodium (880 mg), more saturated fat (4 g); 2 g added sugar per 1/12 package
Ingredients 36 · Sugar, 3rd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Vegetable oil, 1st ingredient (seed oil, −18, ClearShelf standard); Artificial flavours (additive, −10); 4 more
Processing 25 · Roux with refined oils, starch, flavorings, caramel color and MSG
Sourcing 35 · Refined oils and flour are listed; their origins are not stated
Transparency 35 · The ingredient list cuts off at onion seasoning and includes unnamed flavors
Contains palm and canola oils
2 g added sugar per serving
Contains natural and artificial flavors
880 mg sodium per serving
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−20 for sugar
Varies by additive−26 for artificial flavours, caramel colour, natural flavours and 2 more
ClearShelf standard−18 for vegetable oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 21, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Vegetable oil (palm oil, canola oil, soy lecithin) Wheat flour Sugar Salt Corn starch Curry powder (spices, garlic) Sugar and milk powder mixture (sugar, whole milk powder, salt, skim milk powder) Caramel color Monosodium glutamate Whole milk powder Defatted soybean Yeast extract Natural and artificial flavors Honey Cheese product (dextrin Enzyme modified cheese [cheese (pasteurized milk, cheese cultures, salt, enzymes), whole milk powder, salt], yeast extract, corn starch, salt) Soy lecithin Roasted onion powder (onion flake, dextrin, natural flavor) Onion season…
19 ingredients 7 to watch3 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives10 additives · 1 moderate risk
Artificial flavoursFlavouringModerate risk
Undisclosed synthetic compounds; the FDA delisted seven synthetic flavours in 2018 after cancer findings in animals.
Caramel colour (E150)ColourLimited risk
Some types (E150c, E150d) can contain 4-MEI, which IARC lists as possibly carcinogenic (Group 2B); levels are regulated.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Palm oilFatLimited risk
High in saturated fat, and refining can form contaminants (glycidyl esters) that EFSA flagged in 2016.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
MSG (monosodium glutamate) (E621)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Considered safe; EFSA set an acceptable daily intake in 2017, and some people report short-lived symptoms.
Yeast extract or hydrolysed proteinFlavour enhancerLimited risk
Contains free glutamate, the flavour-enhancing part of MSG, without being labelled as MSG.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Honey or maple syrupSugarLimited risk
A less refined sweetener, but it still counts as added sugar in US and WHO guidance.
Lecithin (E322)EmulsifierNo risk
From soy or sunflower; a natural emulsifier EFSA considers safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98