/ / Kaoriya Mochi Sesame Flavor 210g

Kaoriya Mochi Sesame Flavor 210g

Contains maltitol

Soft, individually wrapped sesame mochi with a vegan claim. Each 35 g serving has 7 g added sugar; the ingredients also include maltitol and palm oil.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo added nitritesNo gums or thickenersNo gluten ingredientsDairy-freeContains sesame
$3.99 210 g · lowest price at A&E Foodstore
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
125caloriesPer serving · 35g (1.2 oz)
Protein
1g▼
Fiber
0g▼
Added sugar
7g▼
Sodium
5mg▲
Saturated fat
0g▲
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Maltitol, sesame paste (sesame, sugar, maltose, palm oil), sugar, glutinous rice, hydroxypropyl distarch phosphate (E1442), trehalose, palm oil, sesame, mono- and diglycerides (E471), potassium sorbate (E202)
57 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as snacks, sweets, dessertsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 30%70
Ingredients · counts 30%68
Processing · counts 25%30
Sourcing · counts 5%35
Transparency · counts 10%65
Why it scores 57
Nutrition 70 · Compared with other snacks and sweets: less saturated fat (0 g), less sodium (5 mg); 7 g added sugar per 35g
Ingredients 68 · Sugar, 3rd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (additive, −4); Mono- and diglycerides (additive, −4); 1 more
Processing 30 · Sweetened mochi with maltitol, modified starch, emulsifier and preservative
Sourcing 35 · Refined sweeteners and palm oil; ingredient origins are not stated
Transparency 65 · Full ingredient list and nutrition values; no origin or growing claims
7 g added sugar
Contains maltitol
Contains palm oil
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−20 for sugar
Varies by additive−12 for sorbates, mono- and diglycerides, sugar alcohols
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Maltitol Sesame paste (sesame, sugar, maltose, palm oil) Sugar Glutinous rice Hydroxypropyl distarch phosphate (E1442) Trehalose Palm oil Sesame Mono- and diglycerides (E471) Potassium sorbate (E202)
10 ingredients 1 to watch4 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives5 additives · 5 limited risk
Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (E200–E203)PreservativeLimited risk
Generally well tolerated; EFSA re-evaluated it in 2015 and kept it approved, though it can irritate sensitive skin.
Palm oilFatLimited risk
High in saturated fat, and refining can form contaminants (glycidyl esters) that EFSA flagged in 2016.
Mono- and diglycerides (E471)EmulsifierLimited risk
Can carry traces of trans fat; a 2023 French cohort study associated higher intake with heart disease.
Sugar alcohols (sorbitol, maltitol, xylitol) (E420, E965, E967)SweetenerLimited risk
Can cause bloating and a laxative effect in larger amounts; xylitol is toxic to dogs.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00