/ / McDonnells Curry- 500g

McDonnells Curry- 500g

Contains flavor enhancers

A curry sauce mix with wheat flour, sugar, palm fat and added flavor enhancers. It’s made in Ireland using non-EU curry spices.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gums or thickenersVegetarianContains wheat
$20.99 500 g · lowest price at The Celtic Gift Store
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
89caloriesPer serving (size not printed)
Protein
1.5g
Fiber
—
Added sugar
—▼
Sodium
680mg
Saturated fat
1.6g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Calcium Carbonate, Niacin, Iron and Thiamine), Sugar, Non-Hydrogenated Palm Fat, Flavourings (contain Celery), Curry Powder (10%) (Coriander, Turmeric, Cumin, Cassia, Chilli Powder, Fenugreek, Ginger, Clove, Salt, Mustard Seed, Black Pepper, Garlic Powder), Tomato Powder, Maltodextrin, Salt, Flavour Enhancers (Monosodium Glutamate, Sodium 5’-Ribonucleotides), Anti-Caking Agent (Silicon Dioxide), Acid (Citric Acid)
On Open Food FactsNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
57 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as ready meals, soups, saucesMedium confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%69
Ingredients · counts 25%68
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 10%35
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 57
Nutrition 69 · 6.8 g added sugar per serving (weight not printed, so estimated from its 89 calories; 7% of them from protein); otherwise typical for ready meals and sauces
Ingredients 68 · Sugar, 2nd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Silicon dioxide (additive, −4); Natural flavours (additive, −4); 1 more
Processing 30 · Refined flour, maltodextrin, flavour enhancers and additives
Sourcing 35 · Refined flour and sugar; only the manufacturing location is stated
Transparency 50 · Full list, but flavourings are not specified
Contains palm fat
Contains sugar
Contains maltodextrin
Contains flavour enhancers
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−20 for sugar
Varies by additive−12 for silicon dioxide, natural flavours, msg
Scored Oct 21, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Calcium Carbonate, Niacin, Iron and Thiamine) Sugar Non-Hydrogenated Palm Fat Flavourings (contain Celery) Curry Powder (10%) (Coriander, Turmeric, Cumin, Cassia, Chilli Powder, Fenugreek, Ginger, Clove, Salt, Mustard Seed, Black Pepper, Garlic Powder) Tomato Powder Maltodextrin Salt Flavour Enhancers (Monosodium Glutamate, Sodium 5’-Ribonucleotides) Anti-Caking Agent (Silicon Dioxide) Acid (Citric Acid)
11 ingredients 1 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives8 additives · 1 high risk
Hydrogenated oilFatHigh risk
Partially hydrogenated oils are a source of artificial trans fat, which the FDA removed from the safe list in 2015.
Palm oilFatLimited risk
High in saturated fat, and refining can form contaminants (glycidyl esters) that EFSA flagged in 2016.
MaltodextrinFillerLimited risk
Highly processed starch that raises blood sugar quickly and adds no nutrition.
Silicon dioxide (E551)Anti-caking agentLimited risk
Approved, but EFSA noted in 2018 that data on its nano-sized particles were too limited to set a safe intake.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
MSG (monosodium glutamate) (E621)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Considered safe; EFSA set an acceptable daily intake in 2017, and some people report short-lived symptoms.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Citric acid (E330)AcidNo risk
Usually made by fermentation; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98