/ / Garlic Jalapeño Rub

Garlic Jalapeño Rub

Contains refined soybean oil

A garlic-and-jalapeño seasoning with 360 mg sodium and 1 g added sugar per 2 g serving. It also contains MSG and refined soybean oil.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gums or thickenersNo gluten ingredientsContains soy
$9.99 lowest price at Heath Riles BBQ
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
5caloriesPer serving · 2g
Protein
0g
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
1g
Sodium
360mg
Saturated fat
0g
From the product label
Ingredients: Salt, sugar, spices, monosodium glutamate, dehydrated garlic, jalapeno pepper powder, refined soybean oil, silicon dioxide
On Open Food FactsNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
56 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as salt, spices, baking staplesHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 5%50
Ingredients · counts 45%62
Processing · counts 20%55
Sourcing · counts 10%40
Transparency · counts 20%55
Why it scores 56
Nutrition 50 · Used in small amounts, so nutrition barely counts
Ingredients 62 · Sugar, 2nd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Refined soybean oil, 7th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Silicon dioxide (additive, −4); 1 more
Processing 55 · A seasoned rub with sugar, MSG, refined soybean oil and silicon dioxide
Sourcing 40 · Sugar and refined soybean oil are present; ingredient origins are not stated
Transparency 55 · Full ingredient list, but the spices are unspecified
1 g added sugar
Contains MSG and refined soybean oil
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−20 for sugar
Varies by additive−8 for silicon dioxide, msg
ClearShelf standard−10 for refined soybean oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Salt Sugar Spices Monosodium glutamate Dehydrated garlic Jalapeno pepper powder Refined soybean oil Silicon dioxide
8 ingredients 1 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives4 additives · 4 limited risk
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Silicon dioxide (E551)Anti-caking agentLimited risk
Approved, but EFSA noted in 2018 that data on its nano-sized particles were too limited to set a safe intake.
MSG (monosodium glutamate) (E621)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Considered safe; EFSA set an acceptable daily intake in 2017, and some people report short-lived symptoms.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98