/ / Competition BBQ Rub

Competition BBQ Rub

Contains soybean oil

This sweet, savory and spicy rub lists sugar, salt, spices, honey and garlic. It also contains added sugar, MSG, refined soybean and canola oils, and flavorings.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gums or thickenersNo gluten ingredientsDairy-freeContains peanutsContains soy
$6.49 lowest price at Heath Riles BBQ
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
5caloriesPer serving · 2g
Protein
0g
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
1g
Sodium
210mg
Saturated fat
0g
From the product label
Ingredients: Sugar, Salt, Paprika, Brown Sugar, Spices, Granulated Honey, Garlic Powder, Dehydrated Garlic, Dehydrated Onion, Monosodium Glutamate, Refined Soybean Oil, Oleoresin Paprika, Natural Peanut Nut Type Flavor (Propylene Glycol, Water, Ethyl Alcohol), Smoke Flavor, Natural Flavor, Natural Char Flavor (Canola Oil) and Less Than 2% Silicon Dioxide added to prevent caking
44 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as salt, spices, baking staplesHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 5%50
Ingredients · counts 45%46
Processing · counts 20%30
Sourcing · counts 10%50
Transparency · counts 20%50
Why it scores 44
Nutrition 50 · Used in small amounts, so nutrition barely counts
Ingredients 46 · Sugar, 1st ingredient (added sugar, −20); Refined soybean oil, 11th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Brown sugar, 4th ingredient (added sugar, −8); 4 more
Processing 30 · Sugar, MSG, refined oils, smoke flavor and other flavorings
Sourcing 50 · Made in USA; ingredient sources and growing practices aren't stated
Transparency 50 · Full list, but spices and several flavors are not specified
Contains refined soybean and canola oils
Contains added sugar
Contains monosodium glutamate
Contains natural and smoke flavors
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−28 for sugar, brown sugar
Varies by additive−16 for propylene glycol, silicon dioxide, natural flavours and 1 more
ClearShelf standard−10 for refined soybean oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Sugar Salt Paprika Brown Sugar Spices Granulated Honey Garlic Powder Dehydrated Garlic Dehydrated Onion Monosodium Glutamate Refined Soybean Oil Oleoresin Paprika Natural Peanut Nut Type Flavor (Propylene Glycol, Water, Ethyl Alcohol) Smoke Flavor Natural Flavor Natural Char Flavor (Canola Oil) and Less Than 2% Silicon Dioxide added to prevent caking
16 ingredients 6 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives7 additives · 7 limited risk
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Propylene glycol (E1520)CarrierLimited risk
Solvent for flavourings; considered safe in small amounts, with an acceptable daily intake set by EFSA.
Silicon dioxide (E551)Anti-caking agentLimited risk
Approved, but EFSA noted in 2018 that data on its nano-sized particles were too limited to set a safe intake.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
MSG (monosodium glutamate) (E621)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Considered safe; EFSA set an acceptable daily intake in 2017, and some people report short-lived symptoms.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Honey or maple syrupSugarLimited risk
A less refined sweetener, but it still counts as added sugar in US and WHO guidance.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98