/ / Meat Candy BBQ Rub

Meat Candy BBQ Rub

Contains sugar

A sweet-and-savory rub made with sugar, salt, paprika and other spices. It also contains silica, and the label lists less than 1 g of added sugar per serving.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gums or thickeners
$10.99 lowest price at SuckleBusters
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
0caloriesPer serving · 1/4 tsp (1g)
Protein
0g
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
<1g
Sodium
80mg
Saturated fat
0g
From the product label
Ingredients: Sugar, salt, brown sugar, paprika, garlic, onion, black pepper, spices and silica
57 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as salt, spices, baking staplesHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs, 2 claims verified
Nutrition · counts 5%50
Ingredients · counts 45%56
Processing · counts 20%70
Sourcing · counts 10%40
Transparency · counts 20%55
Why it scores 57
Nutrition 50 · Used in small amounts, so nutrition barely counts
Ingredients 56 · Sugar, 1st ingredient (added sugar, −20); Brown sugar, 3rd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Silicon dioxide (additive, −4)
Processing 70 · Sugar, salt, spices and silica form a blended seasoning
Sourcing 40 · Sugar is a main ingredient; its origin is not stated
Transparency 55 · Full list given, but the spices are not specified
Contains sugar and silica
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−40 for sugar, brown sugar
Varies by additive−4 for silicon dioxide
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Sugar Salt Brown sugar Paprika Garlic Onion Black pepper Spices and silica
8 ingredients 2 to watch
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives2 additives · 2 limited risk
Silicon dioxide (E551)Anti-caking agentLimited risk
Approved, but EFSA noted in 2018 that data on its nano-sized particles were too limited to set a safe intake.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98