/ / Companion - Curry Braised Gluten Seitan Tidbits

Companion - Curry Braised Gluten Seitan Tidbits

Contains soybean oil

Curry-seasoned canned seitan is ready to serve and provides 9 g protein per 85 g serving. It contains soybean oil and has 583 mg sodium per serving.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gums or thickenersDairy-freeContains soyContains wheat
$44.99 lowest price at Mighty Depot
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
201caloriesPer serving · 1/3 Can (85g)
Protein
9g▲
Fiber
2g
Added sugar
—▼
Sodium
583mg▼
Saturated fat
3g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Gluten (Wheat Protein-Non GMO), Water, Curry Spices, Soybean Oil, Sugar, Salt
On Open Food FactsNutri-Score DNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
51 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as plant-based alternativesHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs, 4 claims verified
Nutrition · counts 35%48
Ingredients · counts 20%82
Processing · counts 15%35
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 51
Nutrition 48 · Compared with other plant-based foods: more sodium (583 mg), more protein (9 g); 3.5 g added sugar per 1/3 Can
Ingredients 82 · Soybean oil, 4th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Sugar, 5th ingredient (added sugar, −8); no dyes or artificial sweeteners
Processing 35 · Canned seitan with concentrated wheat protein, oil and sugar
Sourcing 35 · Wheat protein, soybean oil and sugar have no stated sourcing
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but curry spices are not specified
Contains soybean oil
583 mg sodium per serving
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−8 for sugar
ClearShelf standard−10 for soybean oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Gluten (Wheat Protein-Non GMO) Water Curry Spices Soybean Oil Sugar Salt
6 ingredients 1 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives2 additives · 2 limited risk
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98