/ / Daiya Cheese Shreds Mozzarella 12/7.1 OZ [UNFI #2130391] [ebt]

Daiya Cheese Shreds Mozzarella 12/7.1 OZ [UNFI #2130391] [ebt]

Contains safflower oil

Plant-based mozzarella-style shreds with 1 g added sugar per serving. They contain safflower oil, starches and natural flavors.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo gluten ingredientsDairy-freeVegetarianLow sugarContains corn
$59.15 12 × 7.1 oz · lowest price at South Philly Provisions
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
90caloriesPer serving · 1/4 cup (30g)
Protein
1g
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
1g▼
Sodium
240mg▼
Saturated fat
4g▼
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Water, gluten-free oat flour, pea protein, cultures, enzymes, tapioca starch, coconut oil, corn starch, expeller pressed safflower oil, calcium phosphate, konjac flour, fruit juice (for color), yeast extract, salt, dextrose, xanthan gum, lactic acid, natural flavors
On Open Food FactsNutri-Score ENOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
46 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as plant-based alternativesHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%36
Ingredients · counts 20%72
Processing · counts 15%28
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 46
Nutrition 36 · Compared with other plant-based foods: more sodium (240 mg), more saturated fat (4 g); 1 g added sugar per 1/4 cup
Ingredients 72 · Expeller pressed safflower oil, 9th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Added phosphates (additive, −10); Natural flavours (additive, −4); 1 more
Processing 28 · Formulated shreds with starches, oils, pea protein, xanthan gum and natural flavors
Sourcing 35 · Refined starches and safflower oil; ingredient origins are not stated
Transparency 65 · Complete ingredient list; no specific sourcing or production claims
Contains safflower oil
1 g added sugar per serving
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−18 for added phosphates, natural flavours, yeast extract or hydrolysed protein
ClearShelf standard−10 for expeller pressed safflower oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Water Gluten-free oat flour Pea protein Cultures Enzymes Tapioca starch Coconut oil Corn starch Expeller pressed safflower oil Calcium phosphate Konjac flour Fruit juice (for color) Yeast extract Salt Dextrose Xanthan gum Lactic acid Natural flavors
18 ingredients 5 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives7 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Yeast extract or hydrolysed proteinFlavour enhancerLimited risk
Contains free glutamate, the flavour-enhancing part of MSG, without being labelled as MSG.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Lactic acid (E270)AcidNo risk
Made by fermentation; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other dairy & eggs options

Farm Hand Luke
Organic Duck Eggs
95 $9.99
Health Ranger Store
Organic Whey Protein Powder 15 oz (425g)
93 $38.95
Common Ground Farm
Organic Pasture Raised Chicken Eggs | Dozen | Sunshine Farms
93 $11.00
Water Butlers
Organic Store Brand Organic Greek Fat-Free Plain Yogurt, 24 oz
92 $9.25