/ / All Purpose Cake Mix 40% Less Sugar

All Purpose Cake Mix 40% Less Sugar

Contains maltodextrin

A gluten-free cake mix made with rice, corn and tapioca flours, with 12.4 g sugar per 75 g serving when made as directed. It also contains maltodextrin, an emulsifier, natural vanilla flavour and gums.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesGluten-free (label)Dairy-freeContains corn
$7.00 400 g · lowest price at Wallaby Wellness
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
—caloriesPer serving · 75g when made as directed
Protein
3g
Fiber
—
Added sugar
—▼
Sodium
375mg▼
Saturated fat
1.7g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Gluten Free Flour Mix (Rice, Corn, Tapioca) Sugar, Maltodextrin, Baking powder, Vegetable Emulsifier (Mono and Diglycerides), Natural Vanilla Flavour, Thickeners (Guar Gum, Xanthan Gum), Spices, Psyllium Husk
45 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsMedium confidence · Scored on 8 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%39
Ingredients · counts 20%72
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 45
Nutrition 39 · Compared with other grain foods: more sodium (375 mg), less whole grain (0%); 17 g added sugar per 75g when made as directed
Ingredients 72 · Sugar, 2nd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Mono- and diglycerides (additive, −4); Natural flavours (additive, −4)
Processing 30 · Flour mix with maltodextrin, emulsifier, flavour and gums
Sourcing 35 · Made in Australia; ingredient origins and sourcing practices are unclear
Transparency 50 · Full list, but natural flavour and spices are not specified
Maltodextrin
Guar gum and xanthan gum
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−20 for sugar
Varies by additive−8 for mono- and diglycerides, natural flavours
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Gluten Free Flour Mix (Rice, Corn, Tapioca) Sugar Maltodextrin Baking powder Vegetable Emulsifier (Mono and Diglycerides) Natural Vanilla Flavour Thickeners (Guar Gum, Xanthan Gum) Spices Psyllium Husk
8 ingredients 2 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives6 additives · 4 limited risk
Mono- and diglycerides (E471)EmulsifierLimited risk
Can carry traces of trans fat; a 2023 French cohort study associated higher intake with heart disease.
MaltodextrinFillerLimited risk
Highly processed starch that raises blood sugar quickly and adds no nutrition.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Guar gum (E412)ThickenerNo risk
A fibre from guar beans; EFSA considers it safe at normal intakes.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98