/ / Herdez Queso Blanco Dip Medium - 15 oz

Herdez Queso Blanco Dip Medium - 15 oz

Contains soybean oil

This queso dip has pepper Jack cheese, jalapeños and 270 mg sodium per 32 g serving. It also contains soybean oil, modified starch, flavorings and stabilizers.

No artificial dyesNo added nitritesVegetarianKetoContains dairyContains soy
$9.95 15 oz · lowest price at MexGrocer.com
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
60caloriesPer serving · 32 g (2 Tbsp)
Protein
1g
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
—
Sodium
270mg
Saturated fat
1g
From Open Food Facts (by barcode)
Ingredients: Water, soybean oil, maltodextrin, pepper Jack cheese (cultured pasteurized milk, red and green jalapeno peppers, salt, enzymes), modified food starch, jalapeno peppers, nonfat dry milk, salt, jalapeno peppers (jalapeno peppers, water, distilled vinegar, salt, sodium benzoate, calcium chloride), natural cheese flavor (cheese, water, disodium phosphate, salt, sodium citrate), titanium dioxide, disodium phosphate, sodium alginate, sorbic acid, xanthan gum, oatmeal, lactic acid, sodium citrate, distilled vinegar, natural and artificial flavor
On Open Food FactsNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
Product details
ShippingInsulated materials and gel ice packsInsulated boxIce packsShips cold
“Refrigerated products are packed with insulated materials and gel ice packs .” — the brand’s shipping and store pages
49 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as ready meals, soups, saucesHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%75
Ingredients · counts 25%29
Processing · counts 15%28
Sourcing · counts 10%35
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 49
Nutrition 75 · Typical for ready meals and sauces; no added sugar per 32 g
Ingredients 29 · Soybean oil, 2nd ingredient (seed oil, −18, ClearShelf standard); Titanium dioxide (additive, −15); Benzoates (sodium benzoate, benzoic acid) (additive, −10); 4 more
Processing 28 · Soybean oil, modified starch, flavorings, stabilizers and preservatives.
Sourcing 35 · Refined soybean oil and starch are listed; no origin or production claims.
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but natural and artificial flavor are not specified.
Contains soybean oil
Contains modified food starch
Contains titanium dioxide and artificial flavor
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−53 for titanium dioxide, benzoates, added phosphates and 3 more
ClearShelf standard−18 for soybean oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 23, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Water Soybean oil Maltodextrin Pepper Jack cheese (cultured pasteurized milk, red and green jalapeno peppers, salt, enzymes) Modified food starch Jalapeno peppers Nonfat dry milk Salt Jalapeno peppers (jalapeno peppers, water, distilled vinegar, salt, sodium benzoate, calcium chloride) Natural cheese flavor (cheese, water, disodium phosphate, salt, sodium citrate) Titanium dioxide Disodium phosphate Sodium alginate Sorbic acid Xanthan gum Oatmeal Lactic acid Sodium citrate Distilled vinegar Natural and artificial flavor
20 ingredients 2 to watch6 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives11 additives · 1 high risk
Titanium dioxide (E171)ColourHigh risk
EFSA concluded in 2021 it can no longer be considered safe (genotoxicity couldn’t be ruled out); banned in EU food since 2022.
Benzoates (sodium benzoate, benzoic acid) (E210–E212)PreservativeModerate risk
Can form small amounts of benzene with vitamin C in drinks, and was part of the 2007 UK hyperactivity study mix.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Artificial flavoursFlavouringModerate risk
Undisclosed synthetic compounds; the FDA delisted seven synthetic flavours in 2018 after cancer findings in animals.
Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (E200–E203)PreservativeLimited risk
Generally well tolerated; EFSA re-evaluated it in 2015 and kept it approved, though it can irritate sensitive skin.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Modified starch (E14xx)ThickenerLimited risk
Chemically treated starch; considered safe, but a marker of more processed food.
MaltodextrinFillerLimited risk
Highly processed starch that raises blood sugar quickly and adds no nutrition.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Lactic acid (E270)AcidNo risk
Made by fermentation; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98