/ / Organic Chocolate Cake Mix

Organic Chocolate Cake Mix

Contains cane sugar

This certified-organic chocolate cake mix is also Non-GMO Project Verified. Each 25 g mix serving has 12 g added sugar; it contains wheat and is made in a facility that processes egg, milk and soy.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesOrganicVegetarianContains wheatContains corn
$5.99 lowest price at The Market Ky
Price and stock checked Nov 1, 2026
Key nutrition facts
90caloriesPer serving · 1 cupcake (25g mix)
Protein
2g
Fiber
1g
Added sugar
12g▼
Sodium
210mg▼
Saturated fat
0g▲
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: organic cane sugar, organic wheat flour, organic cocoa powder, organic tapioca starch, baking powder (sodium acid pyrophosphate, baking soda, non-GMO corn starch, monocalcium phosphate), baking soda, cream of tartar, sea salt, natural vanilla flavor
43 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as snacks, sweets, dessertsHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs, 2 claims verified
Nutrition · counts 30%25
Ingredients · counts 30%54
Processing · counts 25%30
Sourcing · counts 5%85
Transparency · counts 10%78
Why it scores 43
Nutrition 25 · Compared with other snacks and sweets: more sodium (210 mg), less saturated fat (0 g); 12 g added sugar per 1 cupcake
Ingredients 54 · Cane sugar, 1st ingredient (added sugar, −20); Added phosphates (additive, −10); Wheat flour (refined starch, −6); 2 more
Processing 30 · Cake mix with refined flour, sugar, baking additives and natural vanilla flavor
Sourcing 85 · Certified organic ingredients; their origin is not stated
Transparency 78 · Full ingredient list and organic marks, but the starch type conflicts
12 g added sugar
Natural vanilla flavor
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−32 for cane sugar, wheat flour, tapioca starch
Varies by additive−14 for added phosphates, natural flavours
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Better swapsCleaner pantry options that do the same job
RHBulk All Purpose Gluten Free Baking Mix
63 +20 Clearer sourcing
Walnut Creek Cheese & Market Pie Crust Mix
61 +18 Clearer sourcing
Ingredients
Organic cane sugar Organic wheat flour Organic cocoa powder Organic tapioca starch Baking powder (sodium acid pyrophosphate, baking soda, non-GMO corn starch, monocalcium phosphate) Baking soda Cream of tartar Sea salt Natural vanilla flavor
9 ingredients 3 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives3 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98