/ / Catalina Crunch Protein Cereal - Apple Turnover, 8oz

Catalina Crunch Protein Cereal - Apple Turnover, 8oz

Contains sunflower oil

This crunchy cereal has 10 g protein and 6 g fiber per serving, with 1 g total sugar. It contains high-oleic sunflower oil, guar gum and natural flavors.

No added sugarNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesVegetarianLow sugarContains corn
$9.99 8 oz · lowest price at BariatricPal Store
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
150caloriesPer serving · 1/2 cup (36g)
Protein
10g▲
Fiber
6g▲
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
170mg▼
Saturated fat
1g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Catalina flour (pea protein, corn flour, tapioca starch, corn fiber, pea fiber, chicory root fiber, potato fiber, guar gum), high oleic sunflower oil, apples, leavening (monocalcium phosphate, baking soda, calcium carbonate), stevia extract, natural flavors, cinnamon, monk fruit extract
61 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%81
Ingredients · counts 20%68
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 61
Nutrition 81 · Compared with other grain foods: more fiber (6 g), more sodium (170 mg), less whole grain (0%); no added sugar per 1/2 cup
Ingredients 68 · High oleic sunflower oil, 2nd ingredient (seed oil, −18, ClearShelf standard); Added phosphates (additive, −10); Natural flavours (additive, −4)
Processing 30 · Protein and fiber blend with starches, oil, gum and natural flavors
Sourcing 35 · Refined starches and sunflower oil; ingredient origins are not stated
Transparency 65 · Complete ingredient list and nutrition facts; no sourcing details
Contains sunflower oil
Contains natural flavors
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−14 for added phosphates, natural flavours
ClearShelf standard−18 for high oleic sunflower oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Similar, for lessSame kind of food, scoring about as well or better, for less than $1.25/oz here
Sunrise Flour MillOrganic Oat Cereal (2 lbs)
96+35
$11.00 · $0.34/oz · 72% less per oz
Essence of Life OrganicsNature's Path Organic Whole O's Cereal 325g
64+3
$4.37 · $0.38/oz · 69% less per oz
VitacostNature's Path, Organic Rice Puffs Cereal, 6 oz (170 g)
90+29
$2.53 · $0.42/oz · 66% less per oz
Ingredients
Catalina flour (pea protein, corn flour, tapioca starch, corn fiber, pea fiber, chicory root fiber, potato fiber, guar gum) High oleic sunflower oil Apples Leavening (monocalcium phosphate, baking soda, calcium carbonate) Stevia extract Natural flavors Cinnamon Monk fruit extract
8 ingredients 2 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives6 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Guar gum (E412)ThickenerNo risk
A fibre from guar beans; EFSA considers it safe at normal intakes.
Stevia (steviol glycosides) (E960)SweetenerNo risk
Plant-derived and considered safe by EFSA and the FDA at normal intakes.
Monk fruit extractSweetenerNo risk
Plant-derived sweetener the FDA has not questioned; few studies, no known concerns.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00