/ / Honey BBQ Snack Stick

Honey BBQ Snack Stick

Contains sodium nitrite

This beef-and-pork snack stick includes Montana-raised, grass-fed, grain-finished beef. It also contains sugar, sunflower oil, flavorings, MSG and sodium nitrite.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo gums or thickenersNo gluten ingredientsDairy-free
$8.99 lowest price at Ranch House Meat Co.
Price and stock checked Oct 31, 2026
Key nutrition facts
80caloriesPer serving · 1oz
Protein
5g▼
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
—▼
Sodium
280mg
Saturated fat
2g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Beef, pork, sugar, salt, natural flavors, spices, molasses powder, maltodextrin, monosodium glutamate, paprika, hickory smoke flavor, silicon dioxide, sunflower oil, citric acid, honey, water, sodium phosphate, sodium nitrite, dextrose, sodium erythorbate, collagen casing
Product details
Shelf lifeShelf stable until opened
“Shelf stable until opened.” — the product page
49 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as processed meatHigh confidence · Scored on 11 of 11 inputs, 3 claims verified
Nutrition · counts 20%54
Ingredients · counts 25%33
Processing · counts 25%30
Sourcing · counts 15%72
Transparency · counts 15%75
Why it scores 49
Nutrition 54 · Compared with other processed meats: less protein (5 g); 14 g added sugar per 1oz
Ingredients 33 · Sugar, 3rd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Sodium or potassium nitrite (additive, −15); Sunflower oil, 11th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); 4 more
Processing 30 · Beef and pork stick with sugar, flavorings, MSG, nitrite and other additives
Sourcing 72 · The brand says beef is Montana-raised and grass-fed; pork sourcing is not stated
Transparency 75 · Full ingredient list and specific beef origin and raising claims; pork details are absent
Contains sunflower oil
Contains monosodium glutamate
Contains sodium nitrite
4 g sugar per serving
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−20 for sugar
Varies by additive−37 for sodium or potassium nitrite, added phosphates, silicon dioxide and 2 more
ClearShelf standard−10 for sunflower oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Better swapsCleaner snacks options that do the same job
Farmingdale Meat Market Grass-Fed Original Beef Stick
69 +20 No sunflower oil
260 Broadway Boutique Wild Boar Hickory Snack Stick
69 +20 No sunflower oil
Pearson Ranch Jerky Elk Hickory Smoked Snack Stick
69 +20 No sunflower oil
Ingredients
Beef Pork Sugar Salt Natural flavors Spices Molasses powder Maltodextrin Monosodium glutamate Paprika Hickory smoke flavor Silicon dioxide Sunflower oil Citric acid Honey Water Sodium phosphate Sodium nitrite Dextrose Sodium erythorbate Collagen casing
21 ingredients 5 to watch4 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives10 additives · 1 high risk
Sodium or potassium nitrite (E250, E249)PreservativeHigh risk
Can form nitrosamines in cured meat; IARC classifies processed meat as carcinogenic (Group 1), with nitrites a likely contributor.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
MaltodextrinFillerLimited risk
Highly processed starch that raises blood sugar quickly and adds no nutrition.
Silicon dioxide (E551)Anti-caking agentLimited risk
Approved, but EFSA noted in 2018 that data on its nano-sized particles were too limited to set a safe intake.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
MSG (monosodium glutamate) (E621)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Considered safe; EFSA set an acceptable daily intake in 2017, and some people report short-lived symptoms.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Honey or maple syrupSugarLimited risk
A less refined sweetener, but it still counts as added sugar in US and WHO guidance.
Citric acid (E330)AcidNo risk
Usually made by fermentation; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00