/ / Opa's Premium Cooked Knackwurst

Opa's Premium Cooked Knackwurst

Contains sodium nitrite

This fully cooked pork-and-beef knackwurst is made locally in small batches in Fredericksburg, Texas. It contains flavorings, MSG and sodium nitrite, with 480 mg sodium per 2 oz serving.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo phosphatesNo gums or thickenersNo gluten ingredientsDairy-freeKeto
$29.95 lowest price at Opa's Smoked Meats
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
110caloriesPer serving · 2 oz. (56g)
Protein
11g▼
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
—
Sodium
480mg▲
Saturated fat
2.5g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: PORK, BEEF, WATER, SALT, ONIONS, SUGAR, FLAVORINGS, MONOSODIUM GLUTAMATE, SODIUM ERYTHORBATE, SODIUM NITRITE AND SODIUM CITRATE
Product details
ShippingInsulated box with gel packs; ships coldInsulated boxIce packsShips cold
“Orders that contain smoked meats are packed in insulated containers with gel packs.” — the brand’s shipping and store pages
67 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as processed meatHigh confidence · Scored on 11 of 11 inputs, 3 claims verified
Nutrition · counts 20%78
Ingredients · counts 25%77
Processing · counts 25%55
Sourcing · counts 15%70
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 67
Nutrition 78 · Compared with other processed meats: less sodium (480 mg), less protein (11 g); no added sugar per 2 oz.
Ingredients 77 · Sodium or potassium nitrite (additive, −15); Natural flavours (additive, −4); MSG (monosodium glutamate) (additive, −4)
Processing 55 · Cooked sausage with flavorings, MSG and curing additives
Sourcing 70 · Made locally in small batches in Fredericksburg, Texas
Transparency 50 · Complete ingredient list, but flavorings are not specified
Contains sodium nitrite
Contains flavorings
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−23 for sodium or potassium nitrite, natural flavours, msg
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
PORK BEEF WATER SALT ONIONS SUGAR FLAVORINGS MONOSODIUM GLUTAMATE SODIUM ERYTHORBATE SODIUM NITRITE AND SODIUM CITRATE
10 ingredients 2 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives4 additives · 1 high risk
Sodium or potassium nitrite (E250, E249)PreservativeHigh risk
Can form nitrosamines in cured meat; IARC classifies processed meat as carcinogenic (Group 1), with nitrites a likely contributor.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
MSG (monosodium glutamate) (E621)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Considered safe; EFSA set an acceptable daily intake in 2017, and some people report short-lived symptoms.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other beef options

Full Circle Sustainability
Beef - Short Ribs
96 $38.70
Full Circle Sustainability
Bison - Filet Mignon
96 $13.65
Alderspring Ranch Provisions
Organic Grass Fed Regenerative Ground Beef
95 $16.70
Kolikof® Caviar & Gourmet
Grass-Fed Wagyu – Filet Mignon
95 $47.00