/ / R Butts R Smokin' R-Steak Rub, 14 oz.

R Butts R Smokin' R-Steak Rub, 14 oz.

Contains hydrolyzed soy protein

This steak seasoning combines salt, spices, garlic, onion and paprika. It also contains sugar, hydrolyzed soy protein and an anti-caking agent; the 1 g serving has 240 mg sodium.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo gums or thickenersNo gluten ingredientsContains soy
$11.99 14 oz · lowest price at All Things Barbecue
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
0caloriesPer serving · 1/4 teaspoon (1g)
Protein
0g
Fiber
—
Added sugar
—
Sodium
240mg
Saturated fat
—
From the product label
Ingredients: SALT, SPICES INCLUDING JALAPENO PEPPER, GARLIC POWDER, SUGAR, PAPRIKA, DEHYDRATED GARLIC, ONION POWDER, HYDROLYZED SOY PROTEIN, RED PEPPER, CELERY SEED, AND NOT MORE THAN 2% OF TRICALCIUM PHOSPHATE ADDED TO PREVENT CAKING
67 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as salt, spices, baking staplesMedium confidence · Scored on 8 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 5%50
Ingredients · counts 45%78
Processing · counts 20%60
Sourcing · counts 10%45
Transparency · counts 20%65
Why it scores 67
Nutrition 50 · Used in small amounts, so nutrition barely counts
Ingredients 78 · Added phosphates (additive, −10); Sugar, 4th ingredient (added sugar, −8); Yeast extract or hydrolysed protein (additive, −4)
Processing 60 · Seasoning blend with sugar, hydrolyzed soy protein and an anti-caking agent
Sourcing 45 · Made in the USA; ingredient origins and growing practices are not stated
Transparency 65 · Complete ingredient list, but no specific growing or sourcing claims
Contains sugar
Contains hydrolyzed soy protein
240 mg sodium per 1 g serving
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−8 for sugar
Varies by additive−14 for added phosphates, yeast extract or hydrolysed protein
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
SALT SPICES INCLUDING JALAPENO PEPPER GARLIC POWDER SUGAR PAPRIKA DEHYDRATED GARLIC ONION POWDER HYDROLYZED SOY PROTEIN RED PEPPER CELERY SEED AND NOT MORE THAN 2% OF TRICALCIUM PHOSPHATE ADDED TO PREVENT CAKING
11 ingredients 1 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives3 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Yeast extract or hydrolysed proteinFlavour enhancerLimited risk
Contains free glutamate, the flavour-enhancing part of MSG, without being labelled as MSG.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98