/ / CHI-CHI'S WHITE CORN TORTILLAS

CHI-CHI'S WHITE CORN TORTILLAS

Contains methyl paraben

These white corn tortillas contain 15 mg sodium per serving, despite the “No Sodium” claim. The ingredient list includes several gums and preservatives, including methyl paraben.

Seed-oil freeNo added sugarNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo added nitritesGluten-free (label)Dairy-freeContains corn
$5.25 16 oz · lowest price at Emmas Premium Services
Price and stock checked Oct 31, 2026
Key nutrition facts
110caloriesPer serving · 2 Tortillas (51g)
Protein
2g
Fiber
2g▼
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
15mg
Saturated fat
0g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: White corn masa flour (white corn flour, propionic acid [preservative], guar gum, cellulose gum, benzoic acid [preservative], phosphoric acid, enzymes [to preserve freshness], trace of lime), water, calcium sulfate, xanthan gum, cellulose gum, guar gum, enzymes, propionic acid (preservative), sodium hydroxide, methyl paraben (preservative), propyl paraben (preservative)
On Open Food FactsNutri-Score ANOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
58 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%64
Ingredients · counts 20%66
Processing · counts 15%35
Sourcing · counts 15%50
Transparency · counts 15%62
Why it scores 58
Nutrition 64 · Compared with other grain foods: less whole grain (0%), less fiber (2 g); no added sugar per 2 Tortillas
Ingredients 66 · Benzoates (sodium benzoate, benzoic acid) (additive, −10); Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (additive, −10); Phosphoric acid (additive, −10); 1 more
Processing 35 · Corn masa flour with multiple gums and preservatives
Sourcing 50 · White corn is named, but its origin and growing practices are not stated
Transparency 62 · Full ingredient list, but no specific sourcing claims
Multiple gums and preservatives
15 mg sodium despite “No Sodium” claim
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−34 for benzoates, carboxymethylcellulose, phosphoric acid and 1 more
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
White corn masa flour (white corn flour, propionic acid [preservative], guar gum, cellulose gum, benzoic acid [preservative], phosphoric acid, enzymes [to preserve freshness], trace of lime) Water Calcium sulfate Xanthan gum Cellulose gum Guar gum Enzymes Propionic acid (preservative) Sodium hydroxide Methyl paraben (preservative) Propyl paraben (preservative)
11 ingredients 4 to watch
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives6 additives · 3 moderate risk
Benzoates (sodium benzoate, benzoic acid) (E210–E212)PreservativeModerate risk
Can form small amounts of benzene with vitamin C in drinks, and was part of the 2007 UK hyperactivity study mix.
Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (E466)ThickenerModerate risk
Changed gut bacteria in mice and, in a small 2022 human study, altered the gut microbiome.
Phosphoric acid (E338)AcidModerate risk
The acid in colas; cola intake was linked to lower bone density in women in the Framingham Osteoporosis Study.
Calcium propionate (E282)PreservativeLimited risk
Common bread preservative; a 2019 human study found it raised insulin-related hormones after a meal.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Guar gum (E412)ThickenerNo risk
A fibre from guar beans; EFSA considers it safe at normal intakes.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98