/ / YesYouCan Buttermilk Pancake Mix 300g

YesYouCan Buttermilk Pancake Mix 300g

Contains added sugar

This gluten-free, halal pancake mix uses maize starch and maize flour. Each 120 g serving has 8.4 g added sugar and the mix contains xanthan gum.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesVegetarianContains dairyContains eggsContains corn
$16.49 300 g · lowest price at British Essentials
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
224caloriesPer serving · 120g (3 Pancakes)
Protein
3.3g▼
Fiber
0.1g▼
Added sugar
8.4g▼
Sodium
344mg
Saturated fat
0.6g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product page
Ingredients: Maize starch, maize flour, sugar, buttermilk powder (milk) (4.5%), whole egg powder, whey powder (from milk), raising agents (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate), mineral salt (monocalcium phosphate), salt, thickener (xanthan gum)
52 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%53
Ingredients · counts 20%70
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 52
Nutrition 53 · Compared with other grain foods: less fiber (0.1 g), less whole grain (0%); 8.4 g added sugar per 120g
Ingredients 70 · Sugar, 3rd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Added phosphates (additive, −10); no dyes or artificial sweeteners
Processing 30 · Maize starch, sugar, raising agents and xanthan gum make this a formulated mix.
Sourcing 35 · Refined maize ingredients and sugar are used; their origins are not stated.
Transparency 65 · Full ingredient list and nutrition values; no specific sourcing claims.
8.4 g added sugar per serving
Contains xanthan gum
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−20 for sugar
Varies by additive−10 for added phosphates
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Maize starch Maize flour Sugar Buttermilk powder (milk) (4.5%) Whole egg powder Whey powder (from milk) Raising agents (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate) Mineral salt (monocalcium phosphate) Salt Thickener (xanthan gum)
10 ingredients 3 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives3 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98