/ / Grandma's Flaky Pie Crust Mix

Grandma's Flaky Pie Crust Mix

Contains TBHQ

This pie crust mix is made in small batches and lists its ingredients. It contains corn syrup solids, palm oil, TBHQ and a milk derivative; add butter and water to make the dough.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo added nitritesVegetarianLow sugarLow sodiumContains dairyContains wheatContains corn
$4.95 18 oz · lowest price at Fowler's Mill
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
110caloriesPer serving · 3 Tbsp (27g)
Protein
3g
Fiber
<1g▼
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
110mg▼
Saturated fat
0.5g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Shortening Powder (Corn Syrup Solids, Palm Oil, Sodium Caseinate (a milk derivative), Dipotassium Phosphate, Mono- and Diglycerides, Guar Gum, TBHQ (to help protect flavor)) and less than 2% Sodium Silicoaluminate (anti-caking agent) and Salt
51 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs, 2 claims verified
Nutrition · counts 35%57
Ingredients · counts 20%56
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 15%40
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 51
Nutrition 57 · Compared with other grain foods: less fiber (0.5 g), less whole grain (0%), more sodium (110 mg); no added sugar per 3 Tbsp
Ingredients 56 · Corn syrup solids, 2nd ingredient (added sugar, −20); TBHQ (additive, −10); Added phosphates (additive, −10); 1 more
Processing 30 · Enriched flour and shortening powder with corn syrup solids, gum and TBHQ
Sourcing 40 · Refined flour and shortening ingredients; their origins are not stated
Transparency 65 · Full ingredient list; small-batch production is stated
Contains corn syrup solids, palm oil and TBHQ
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−20 for corn syrup solids
Varies by additive−24 for tbhq, added phosphates, mono- and diglycerides
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Better swapsCleaner pantry options that do the same job
RHBulk All Purpose Gluten Free Baking Mix
63 +12 No corn syrup solids, palm oil and TBHQ
Walnut Creek Cheese & Market Pie Crust Mix
61 +10 No corn syrup solids, palm oil and TBHQ
Similar, for lessSame kind of food, scoring about as well or better, for less than $0.28/oz here
Walnut Creek Cheese & MarketPie Crust Mix
61+10
$1.99 · $0.12/oz · 55% less per oz
RHBulkAll Purpose Gluten Free Baking Mix
63+12
$1.70 · $0.11/oz · 61% less per oz
Ingredients
Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid) Shortening Powder (Corn Syrup Solids Palm Oil Sodium Caseinate (a milk derivative) Dipotassium Phosphate Mono- and Diglycerides Guar Gum TBHQ (to help protect flavor)) and less than 2% Sodium Silicoaluminate (anti-caking agent) and Salt
8 ingredients 1 to watch7 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives7 additives · 2 moderate risk
TBHQ (E319)PreservativeModerate risk
Synthetic antioxidant; animal studies at high doses raise questions, and EFSA sets a low acceptable daily intake.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Palm oilFatLimited risk
High in saturated fat, and refining can form contaminants (glycidyl esters) that EFSA flagged in 2016.
Mono- and diglycerides (E471)EmulsifierLimited risk
Can carry traces of trans fat; a 2023 French cohort study associated higher intake with heart disease.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Refined (enriched or bleached) flourRefined grainLimited risk
Bran and germ are removed, so it’s low in fibre; some vitamins are added back.
Guar gum (E412)ThickenerNo risk
A fibre from guar beans; EFSA considers it safe at normal intakes.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98