/ / Apple Spice Cake Mix

Apple Spice Cake Mix

Contains cane sugar

This small-batch cake mix includes cinnamon and natural spices. Each 45 g serving has 21 g added sugar and refined wheat flours.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gums or thickenersContains wheat
$4.95 16 oz · lowest price at Fowler's Mill
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
160caloriesPer serving · 1/4 Cup Dry Mix (45g)
Protein
2g
Fiber
<1g▼
Added sugar
21g▼
Sodium
370mg▼
Saturated fat
0g▲
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Cane Sugar, Bleached Cake Wheat Flour, Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Baking Soda, Cinnamon, Salt and Natural Spices
48 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as snacks, sweets, dessertsHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs, 1 claim verified
Nutrition · counts 30%22
Ingredients · counts 30%68
Processing · counts 25%55
Sourcing · counts 5%50
Transparency · counts 10%50
Why it scores 48
Nutrition 22 · Compared with other snacks and sweets: more sodium (370 mg), less saturated fat (0 g); 21 g added sugar per 1/4 Cup Dry Mix
Ingredients 68 · Cane sugar, 1st ingredient (added sugar, −20); Wheat flour (refined starch, −6); Enriched wheat flour (refined starch, −6)
Processing 55 · A dry mix of refined wheat flours, sugar, spices and baking soda
Sourcing 50 · Small-batch making is stated; the flour and sugar sources aren't
Transparency 50 · Full list given, but natural spices are not specified
21 g added sugar
Refined wheat flours
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−32 for cane sugar, wheat flour, enriched wheat flour
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Better swapsCleaner snacks options that do the same job
Sandhill Mill Brownie Mix
59 +11 Clearer sourcing
GlutenFreePalace Authentic Foods Lemon Cake Mix
56 +8 Clearer sourcing
Ingredients
Cane Sugar Bleached Cake Wheat Flour Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid) Baking Soda Cinnamon Salt and Natural Spices
6 ingredients 1 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives2 additives · 2 limited risk
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Refined (enriched or bleached) flourRefined grainLimited risk
Bran and germ are removed, so it’s low in fibre; some vitamins are added back.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00