/ / Barebells Soft Protein Bars

Barebells Soft Protein Bars

Contains maltitol

This bar has 20 g of protein per 55 g serving and is marketed with no added sugar. It contains maltitol, sucralose and sunflower oil; maltitol may have a laxative effect.

No added sugarNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesLow sugarHigh proteinContains dairyContains soy
$3.24 lowest price at BariatricPal Store
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
200caloriesPer serving · 1 bar (55 g)
Protein
20g▲
Fiber
2g
Added sugar
—
Sodium
150mg
Saturated fat
3g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From Open Food Facts (by barcode)
Ingredients: Maltitol, milk protein blend (calcium caseinate, whey protein concentrate, whey protein hydrolysate), hydrolyzed bovine collagen, water, polydextrose, glycerin, cocoa butter, milk, high oleic sunflower oil, unsweetened chocolate, xylitol, cocoa processed with alkali, whey protein isolate, butter (pasteurized cream, salt), sunflower lecithin, gelatin, salt, natural flavors, soy lecithin, cocoa, sucralose
On Open Food FactsNutri-Score DNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
56 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as snacks, sweets, dessertsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 30%81
Ingredients · counts 30%60
Processing · counts 25%28
Sourcing · counts 5%35
Transparency · counts 10%50
Why it scores 56
Nutrition 81 · Compared with other snacks and sweets: more protein (20 g); no added sugar per 1 bar
Ingredients 60 · Sucralose (artificial sweetener, −12); High oleic sunflower oil, 9th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Polydextrose (refined starch, −6); 3 more
Processing 28 · Protein ingredients, sugar alcohols, glycerin, flavors and sucralose.
Sourcing 35 · Refined sweeteners and protein ingredients; no sourcing practices stated.
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but natural flavors are not specified.
Maltitol may cause a laxative effect
Contains sucralose
Contains sunflower oil
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−6 for polydextrose
Varies by additive−12 for hydrolyzed bovine collagen, sugar alcohols, natural flavours
Mixed evidence−12 for sucralose
ClearShelf standard−10 for high oleic sunflower oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 23, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Maltitol Milk protein blend (calcium caseinate, whey protein concentrate, whey protein hydrolysate) Hydrolyzed bovine collagen Water Polydextrose Glycerin Cocoa butter Milk High oleic sunflower oil Unsweetened chocolate Xylitol Cocoa processed with alkali Whey protein isolate Butter (pasteurized cream, salt) Sunflower lecithin Gelatin Salt Natural flavors Soy lecithin Cocoa Sucralose
21 ingredients 5 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives5 additives · 1 moderate risk
Sucralose (E955)SweetenerModerate risk
Studies suggest it can alter gut bacteria and glucose response; a 2023 lab study found a breakdown product genotoxic.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Sugar alcohols (sorbitol, maltitol, xylitol) (E420, E965, E967)SweetenerLimited risk
Can cause bloating and a laxative effect in larger amounts; xylitol is toxic to dogs.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Lecithin (E322)EmulsifierNo risk
From soy or sunflower; a natural emulsifier EFSA considers safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00