/ / Prego Homestyle Alfredo Sauce 22 oz Jar – Case of 12

Prego Homestyle Alfredo Sauce 22 oz Jar – Case of 12

Contains soybean oil

Cream, butter and several cheeses are in the ingredient list. It also contains soybean oil, modified food starch, xanthan gum and MSG; a 1/4-cup serving has 390 mg sodium.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesVegetarianKetoLow sugarContains dairyContains eggsContains soy
$56.28 22 OZ 12 Pack · lowest price at StockUpExpress
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
80caloriesPer serving (size not printed)
Protein
1g
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
390mg
Saturated fat
3.5g▼
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Water, Cream, Butter (Cream, Water, Salt), Parmesan Cheese (Part-Skim Milk, Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Enzyme Modified Egg Yolks (Egg Yolks, Salt, Phospholipase), Modified Food Starch, Soybean Oil, Romano Cheese (Part-Skim Cow's Milk, Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Salt, Sugar, Dehydrated Whey, Disodium Phosphate, Granular and Parmesan Cheese (Milk, Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Xanthan Gum, Monosodium Glutamate, Garlic, Spices, Water, Flavoring (Contains Malt Extract), Yeast Extract, Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Sodium Phosphate, Lactic Acid
Product details
PackagingGlassRecyclableGlass
“Glass: Please recycle.” — the product page
57 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as ready meals, soups, saucesHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%66
Ingredients · counts 25%68
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 10%50
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 57
Nutrition 66 · Compared with other ready meals and sauces: more saturated fat (3.5 g); no added sugar per 1/4 Cup
Ingredients 68 · Soybean oil, 7th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Added phosphates (additive, −10); Natural flavours (additive, −4); 2 more
Processing 30 · Contains modified starch, xanthan gum, MSG and added flavoring.
Sourcing 50 · No origin or production practices are stated.
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but spices and flavoring are not specified.
Contains soybean oil
Contains modified food starch, xanthan gum and MSG
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−22 for added phosphates, natural flavours, msg and 1 more
ClearShelf standard−10 for soybean oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Similar, for lessSame kind of food, scoring about as well or better, for less than $0.21/oz here
Borrelli Gourmet FoodsPizza Sauce, 15oz (425g)
70+13
$2.49 · $0.17/oz · 22% less per oz
Ingredients
Water Cream Butter (Cream, Water, Salt) Parmesan Cheese (Part-Skim Milk, Cultures, Salt, Enzymes) Enzyme Modified Egg Yolks (Egg Yolks, Salt, Phospholipase) Modified Food Starch Soybean Oil Romano Cheese (Part-Skim Cow's Milk, Cultures, Salt, Enzymes) Salt Sugar Dehydrated Whey Disodium Phosphate Granular and Parmesan Cheese (Milk, Cultures, Salt, Enzymes) Xanthan Gum Monosodium Glutamate Garlic Spices Water Flavoring (Contains Malt Extract) Yeast Extract Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cultures, Salt, Enzymes) Sodium Phosphate Lactic Acid
23 ingredients 4 to watch3 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives9 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Modified starch (E14xx)ThickenerLimited risk
Chemically treated starch; considered safe, but a marker of more processed food.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
MSG (monosodium glutamate) (E621)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Considered safe; EFSA set an acceptable daily intake in 2017, and some people report short-lived symptoms.
Yeast extract or hydrolysed proteinFlavour enhancerLimited risk
Contains free glutamate, the flavour-enhancing part of MSG, without being labelled as MSG.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Lactic acid (E270)AcidNo risk
Made by fermentation; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98