/ / Kubota Daifuku Mochi: Banana

Kubota Daifuku Mochi: Banana

Contains corn syrup

Chewy banana-flavored daifuku mochi with 7 g of added sugar per piece. It also contains artificial flavor, gums and FD&C Yellow No. 5.

No natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesLow sodiumContains dairyContains corn
$7.99 lowest price at Bokksu Market
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
90caloriesPer serving · 1 piece (25g)
Protein
0g▼
Fiber
0g▼
Added sugar
7g▼
Sodium
5mg▲
Saturated fat
0g▲
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: MALTOSE, SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, GLUTINOUS RICE FLOUR, BANANA PASTE (VEGETABLE OIL (PALM OIL), SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, MALTOSE, DEXTRIN, SKIM MILK POWDER, WHEY PROTEIN, BANANA JUICE), TREHALOSE, CORN STARCH, MODIFIED STARCH, SORBITOL, SHORTENING (PALM OIL), GELATIN, GLYCEROL FATTY ACID ESTER, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, POLYSACCHARIDE THICKENER (XANTHAN GUM, LOCUST BEAN GUM, PECTIN), CITRIC ACID, COLOR (FD&C YELLOW NO.5, CAROTENE)
41 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as snacks, sweets, dessertsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 30%60
Ingredients · counts 30%28
Processing · counts 25%25
Sourcing · counts 5%35
Transparency · counts 10%65
Why it scores 41
Nutrition 60 · Compared with other snacks and sweets: less saturated fat (0 g), less sodium (5 mg); 7 g added sugar per 1 piece
Ingredients 28 · Maltose, 1st ingredient (added sugar, −20); Sugar, 2nd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Artificial flavours (additive, −10); 4 more
Processing 25 · Syrups, modified starch, artificial flavor, gums and added color.
Sourcing 35 · Refined sugars, corn syrup and starches dominate; origin is not stated.
Transparency 65 · Full ingredient list, but no product-specific sourcing or production claims.
7 g added sugar
Contains artificial flavor
Contains FD&C Yellow No. 5
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−58 for maltose, sugar, rice flour and 2 more
Varies by additive−14 for artificial flavours, sugar alcohols
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
MALTOSE SUGAR CORN SYRUP GLUTINOUS RICE FLOUR BANANA PASTE (VEGETABLE OIL (PALM OIL), SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, MALTOSE, DEXTRIN, SKIM MILK POWDER, WHEY PROTEIN, BANANA JUICE) TREHALOSE CORN STARCH MODIFIED STARCH SORBITOL SHORTENING (PALM OIL) GELATIN GLYCEROL FATTY ACID ESTER ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR POLYSACCHARIDE THICKENER (XANTHAN GUM, LOCUST BEAN GUM, PECTIN) CITRIC ACID COLOR (FD&C YELLOW NO.5, CAROTENE)
16 ingredients 5 to watch4 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives11 additives · 2 moderate risk
Yellow 5 (tartrazine) (E102)ColourModerate risk
Linked to hyperactivity in some children in a 2007 UK study, and can cause reactions in sensitive people; EU warning label.
Artificial flavoursFlavouringModerate risk
Undisclosed synthetic compounds; the FDA delisted seven synthetic flavours in 2018 after cancer findings in animals.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Palm oilFatLimited risk
High in saturated fat, and refining can form contaminants (glycidyl esters) that EFSA flagged in 2016.
Modified starch (E14xx)ThickenerLimited risk
Chemically treated starch; considered safe, but a marker of more processed food.
Sugar alcohols (sorbitol, maltitol, xylitol) (E420, E965, E967)SweetenerLimited risk
Can cause bloating and a laxative effect in larger amounts; xylitol is toxic to dogs.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Locust bean gum (E410)ThickenerNo risk
A fibre from carob seeds; EFSA found no safety concern in 2017.
Pectin (E440)Gelling agentNo risk
A fibre from fruit; considered safe.
Citric acid (E330)AcidNo risk
Usually made by fermentation; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00