/ / Baking Powder, Gluten-Free, Bob's Red Mill

Baking Powder, Gluten-Free, Bob's Red Mill

Contains sodium acid pyrophosphate

This double-acting baking powder has a complete four-ingredient list and no added aluminum. It contains sodium acid pyrophosphate and is made in a facility that also uses tree nuts and soy.

Seed-oil freeNo added sugarNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo gums or thickenersContains corn
$7.95 lowest price at Country Life Natural Foods
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
0caloriesPer serving · 1/4 tsp (1g)
Protein
0g
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
160mg
Saturated fat
0g
From the product label
Ingredients: sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, cornstarch, monocalcium phosphate
On Open Food FactsNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
75 / 100
Good Scored automatically
Weighted as salt, spices, baking staplesHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 5%50
Ingredients · counts 45%90
Processing · counts 20%75
Sourcing · counts 10%40
Transparency · counts 20%65
Why it scores 75
Nutrition 50 · Used in small amounts, so nutrition barely counts
Ingredients 90 · Added phosphates (additive, −10); no dyes or artificial sweeteners
Processing 75 · A baking blend of leavening salts and cornstarch
Sourcing 40 · The origins of the ingredients are not stated
Transparency 65 · Complete ingredient list; no specific sourcing claims
Contains sodium acid pyrophosphate
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−10 for added phosphates
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Sodium acid pyrophosphate Sodium bicarbonate Cornstarch Monocalcium phosphate
4 ingredients 1 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives1 additive · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98