/ / Plantain Chips Hot & Spicy, 5 oz Bag

Plantain Chips Hot & Spicy, 5 oz Bag

Contains natural flavorings

Plantain chips fried in palm oil, with a spicy seasoning that includes natural flavorings. They are Non-GMO Project Verified and labeled Certified Gluten Free.

Seed-oil freeNo added sugarNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gums or thickeners
$4.99 5 oz · lowest price at Shop Goya
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
150caloriesPer serving · 32 chips (28g)
Protein
0g▼
Fiber
2g
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
65mg
Saturated fat
2g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: plantains, palm oil, spicy pepper natural flavor (salt, onion oleoresin, capsicum oleoresin, flavorings, dextrin, citric acid, silicon dioxide), sea salt
On Open Food FactsNutri-Score ENOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
65 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as snacks, sweets, dessertsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 30%71
Ingredients · counts 30%92
Processing · counts 25%35
Sourcing · counts 5%50
Transparency · counts 10%50
Why it scores 65
Nutrition 71 · Compared with other snacks and sweets: less protein (0 g); no added sugar per 32 chips
Ingredients 92 · Silicon dioxide (additive, −4); Natural flavours (additive, −4); no dyes or artificial sweeteners
Processing 35 · Fried plantain chips with flavorings, dextrin and silicon dioxide
Sourcing 50 · Origin and growing practices are not stated
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list includes unnamed flavorings
Contains palm oil
Contains natural flavorings
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−8 for silicon dioxide, natural flavours
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Plantains Palm oil Spicy pepper natural flavor (salt, onion oleoresin, capsicum oleoresin, flavorings, dextrin, citric acid, silicon dioxide) Sea salt
4 ingredients 1 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives4 additives · 3 limited risk
Palm oilFatLimited risk
High in saturated fat, and refining can form contaminants (glycidyl esters) that EFSA flagged in 2016.
Silicon dioxide (E551)Anti-caking agentLimited risk
Approved, but EFSA noted in 2018 that data on its nano-sized particles were too limited to set a safe intake.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Citric acid (E330)AcidNo risk
Usually made by fermentation; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00