/ / Little Northern Bakehouse Bagels, Plain

Little Northern Bakehouse Bagels, Plain

Contains modified starches

These gluten-free bagels are plant-based and provide 4 g fiber per bagel. They contain refined starches, sunflower oil and 6 g added sugar, with 590 mg sodium per bagel.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesGluten-free (label)Dairy-freeVegetarianContains corn
$9.49 4 bagels · lowest price at GlutenFreePalace
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
260caloriesPer serving · 1 bagel (100g)
Protein
2g▼
Fiber
4g▼
Added sugar
6g▼
Sodium
590mg▼
Saturated fat
0.5g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Water, modified tapioca starch, brown rice flour, potato starch, corn starch, cane sugar, sunflower oil, psyllium husk, sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, monocalcium phosphate, pea fiber, salt, modified cellulose, rice bran, yeast, cellulose gum, cultured cane sugar
On Open Food FactsNutri-Score CNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
Product details
ShippingSome products ship frozenShips frozen
“Some of our products are shipped frozen, depending on the weather and/or distance to travel.” — the brand’s shipping and store pages
52 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%52
Ingredients · counts 20%70
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 52
Nutrition 52 · Compared with other grain foods: more sodium (590 mg), less fiber (4 g); 6 g added sugar per 1 bagel
Ingredients 70 · Sunflower oil, 7th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (additive, −10); Added phosphates (additive, −10)
Processing 30 · Refined starches, modified cellulose and cellulose gum make this highly processed
Sourcing 35 · Main ingredients include refined starches; their origin is not stated
Transparency 65 · Full ingredient list and nutrition values; no growing or sourcing claims
6 g added sugar
Refined starches
Contains sunflower oil
590 mg sodium
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−20 for carboxymethylcellulose, added phosphates
ClearShelf standard−10 for sunflower oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Water Modified tapioca starch Brown rice flour Potato starch Corn starch Cane sugar Sunflower oil Psyllium husk Sodium acid pyrophosphate Sodium bicarbonate Monocalcium phosphate Pea fiber Salt Modified cellulose Rice bran Yeast Cellulose gum Cultured cane sugar
18 ingredients 6 to watch3 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives5 additives · 2 moderate risk
Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (E466)ThickenerModerate risk
Changed gut bacteria in mice and, in a small 2022 human study, altered the gut microbiome.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Modified starch (E14xx)ThickenerLimited risk
Chemically treated starch; considered safe, but a marker of more processed food.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98