/ / Tomato Basil Soup Mix - 17 Servings per Pouch

Tomato Basil Soup Mix - 17 Servings per Pouch

Contains corn syrup solids

This shelf-stable soup mix is vegetarian and gluten-free, with 2 g added sugar per serving. It contains milk and uses modified starch, corn syrup solids and natural flavor.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesGluten-free (label)VegetarianLow sugarContains dairyContains corn
$14.79 lowest price at ReadyWise
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
110caloriesPer serving · ¼ cup dry (28g)
Protein
1g
Fiber
1g▲
Added sugar
2g▼
Sodium
560mg▼
Saturated fat
3.5g▼
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: modified food starch, coconut oil, tomato powder, corn syrup solids, sugar, maltodextrin, sea salt, sodium caseinate (a milk derivative), tomato flake, spices, yeast extract, whey solids, enzyme modified and dehydrated butter, natural flavor, guar gum, citric acid, (annatto, beet juice, cochineal, turmeric, [color]), caramel color, mono and diglycerides, dipotassium phosphate, black pepper, silicon dioxide
42 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as ready meals, soups, saucesHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%41
Ingredients · counts 25%50
Processing · counts 15%25
Sourcing · counts 10%35
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 42
Nutrition 41 · Compared with other ready meals and sauces: more sodium (560 mg), more saturated fat (3.5 g), more fiber (1 g) per ¼ cup dry
Ingredients 50 · Added phosphates (additive, −10); Corn syrup solids, 4th ingredient (added sugar, −8); Sugar, 5th ingredient (added sugar, −8); 6 more
Processing 25 · Soup mix with modified starch, corn syrup solids, flavors and gums
Sourcing 35 · Made in the USA; the main ingredients' sourcing is not stated
Transparency 50 · Complete ingredient list, but it includes unspecified spices and natural flavor
Contains corn syrup solids, sugar and maltodextrin
2 g added sugar per serving
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−16 for corn syrup solids, sugar
Varies by additive−34 for added phosphates, caramel colour, annatto and 4 more
Scored Oct 21, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Modified food starch Coconut oil Tomato powder Corn syrup solids Sugar Maltodextrin Sea salt Sodium caseinate (a milk derivative) Tomato flake Spices Yeast extract Whey solids Enzyme modified and dehydrated butter Natural flavor Guar gum Citric acid (annatto, beet juice, cochineal, turmeric, [color]) Caramel color Mono and diglycerides Dipotassium phosphate Black pepper Silicon dioxide
22 ingredients 4 to watch6 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives12 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Caramel colour (E150)ColourLimited risk
Some types (E150c, E150d) can contain 4-MEI, which IARC lists as possibly carcinogenic (Group 2B); levels are regulated.
Annatto (E160b)ColourLimited risk
Plant-based colour from achiote seeds; generally safe, but can occasionally cause allergic reactions.
Mono- and diglycerides (E471)EmulsifierLimited risk
Can carry traces of trans fat; a 2023 French cohort study associated higher intake with heart disease.
Modified starch (E14xx)ThickenerLimited risk
Chemically treated starch; considered safe, but a marker of more processed food.
MaltodextrinFillerLimited risk
Highly processed starch that raises blood sugar quickly and adds no nutrition.
Silicon dioxide (E551)Anti-caking agentLimited risk
Approved, but EFSA noted in 2018 that data on its nano-sized particles were too limited to set a safe intake.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Yeast extract or hydrolysed proteinFlavour enhancerLimited risk
Contains free glutamate, the flavour-enhancing part of MSG, without being labelled as MSG.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Guar gum (E412)ThickenerNo risk
A fibre from guar beans; EFSA considers it safe at normal intakes.
Citric acid (E330)AcidNo risk
Usually made by fermentation; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98