/ / Carrot Cake Muffin Mix

Carrot Cake Muffin Mix

Contains added sugar

This muffin mix includes dehydrated carrot pieces and warm spices. Each 42 g serving has 18 g added sugar, and the mix contains palm and canola oils.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesVegetarianContains dairyContains wheatContains corn
$5.75 lowest price at Lehi Mills
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
170caloriesPer serving · 42g
Protein
2g
Fiber
0g▼
Added sugar
18g▼
Sodium
200mg▼
Saturated fat
1g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Sugar, Dehydrated Carrot Pieces, Food Starch - Modified, Palm Oil, Canola Oil, Non-Fat Dry Milk, Corn Starch, Sodium Aluminum Phosphate, Salt, Sodium Bicarbonate, Cinnamon Powder, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate (Emulsifier), Natural Flavor, Cellulose Gum, Pectin, Distilled Monoglycerides, Lecithin
34 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs, 2 claims verified
Nutrition · counts 35%12
Ingredients · counts 20%38
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 15%65
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 34
Nutrition 12 · Compared with other grain foods: less fiber (0 g), more sodium (200 mg); 18 g added sugar per 42g
Ingredients 38 · Sugar, 2nd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Canola oil, 6th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (additive, −10); 4 more
Processing 30 · Mix includes refined flour, sugar, modified starch, oils, emulsifiers and flavoring
Sourcing 65 · The brand says its products use locally sourced grains and hand-selected wheat
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but natural flavor is not specified
18 g added sugar
Contains palm and canola oils
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−20 for sugar
Varies by additive−32 for carboxymethylcellulose, added phosphates, mono- and diglycerides and 2 more
ClearShelf standard−10 for canola oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid) Sugar Dehydrated Carrot Pieces Food Starch - Modified Palm Oil Canola Oil Non-Fat Dry Milk Corn Starch Sodium Aluminum Phosphate Salt Sodium Bicarbonate Cinnamon Powder Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate (Emulsifier) Natural Flavor Cellulose Gum Pectin Distilled Monoglycerides Lecithin
18 ingredients 6 to watch4 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives11 additives · 2 moderate risk
Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (E466)ThickenerModerate risk
Changed gut bacteria in mice and, in a small 2022 human study, altered the gut microbiome.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Palm oilFatLimited risk
High in saturated fat, and refining can form contaminants (glycidyl esters) that EFSA flagged in 2016.
Mono- and diglycerides (E471)EmulsifierLimited risk
Can carry traces of trans fat; a 2023 French cohort study associated higher intake with heart disease.
Sodium stearoyl lactylate (E481)EmulsifierLimited risk
Dough conditioner; approved at permitted levels, with limited long-term human data.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Refined (enriched or bleached) flourRefined grainLimited risk
Bran and germ are removed, so it’s low in fibre; some vitamins are added back.
Pectin (E440)Gelling agentNo risk
A fibre from fruit; considered safe.
Lecithin (E322)EmulsifierNo risk
From soy or sunflower; a natural emulsifier EFSA considers safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98