/ / MRE Flour Tortillas by Bridgford

MRE Flour Tortillas by Bridgford

Contains hydrogenated soybean oil

These ready-to-eat MRE tortillas are packaged for 10+ years of shelf life when stored in a cool location out of direct sunlight. They contain bleached wheat flour, hydrogenated soybean oil and several preservatives and other additives.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo added nitritesNo phosphatesDairy-freeVegetarianLow sugarContains soyContains wheatContains corn
$1.95 lowest price at MRE Depot
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
220caloriesPer serving · 2 Tortillas (62g)
Protein
4g
Fiber
0g▼
Added sugar
1g
Sodium
280mg▼
Saturated fat
2.5g▼
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Bleached Wheat Flour (Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Enzyme, Folic Acid), Water, Vegetable Shortening (Soybean Oil and Hydrogenated Soybean Oil), Vegetable Glycerin, Contains 2% or less of the following: Salt, Mono and Diglycerides, Wheat Gluten, Calcium Propionate, Sodium Bicarbonate, Sugar, Fumaric Acid, Sodium Aluminum Sulfate, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Corn Starch, Potassium Sorbate, Enzyme, Cellulose Gum, Enzymes, Sodium Metabisulfite
Product details
Shelf life10+ years when stored in a cool location out of direct sunlight
“These tortillas are packaged for an extremely long shelf life of 10+ years if stored in a cool location out of direct sunlight.” — the product page
38 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%46
Ingredients · counts 20%14
Processing · counts 15%25
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 38
Nutrition 46 · Compared with other grain foods: less fiber (0 g), more saturated fat (2.5 g), more sodium (280 mg) per 2 Tortillas
Ingredients 14 · Vegetable Shortening (hydrogenated oil, −40); Sulfites (additive, −10); Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (additive, −10); 5 more
Processing 25 · Bleached flour, hydrogenated soybean oil and several additives
Sourcing 35 · Refined flour and soybean oils; their origins are not stated
Transparency 65 · Complete ingredient list and nutrition values; no sourcing details
Contains hydrogenated soybean oil
Contains 1 g added sugar
Contains preservatives and other additives
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−40 for vegetable shortening
Varies by additive−46 for sulfites, carboxymethylcellulose, added phosphates and 4 more
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Bleached Wheat Flour (Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Enzyme, Folic Acid) Water Vegetable Shortening (Soybean Oil and Hydrogenated Soybean Oil) Vegetable Glycerin Contains 2% or less of the following: Salt Mono and Diglycerides Wheat Gluten Calcium Propionate Sodium Bicarbonate Sugar Fumaric Acid Sodium Aluminum Sulfate Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate Corn Starch Potassium Sorbate Enzyme Cellulose Gum Enzymes Sodium Metabisulfite
20 ingredients 3 to watch3 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives11 additives · 1 high risk
Hydrogenated oilFatHigh risk
Partially hydrogenated oils are a source of artificial trans fat, which the FDA removed from the safe list in 2015.
Sulfites (E220–E228)PreservativeModerate risk
Can trigger asthma-like reactions in sensitive people, which is why they must be declared on labels.
Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (E466)ThickenerModerate risk
Changed gut bacteria in mice and, in a small 2022 human study, altered the gut microbiome.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (E200–E203)PreservativeLimited risk
Generally well tolerated; EFSA re-evaluated it in 2015 and kept it approved, though it can irritate sensitive skin.
Calcium propionate (E282)PreservativeLimited risk
Common bread preservative; a 2019 human study found it raised insulin-related hormones after a meal.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Mono- and diglycerides (E471)EmulsifierLimited risk
Can carry traces of trans fat; a 2023 French cohort study associated higher intake with heart disease.
Sodium stearoyl lactylate (E481)EmulsifierLimited risk
Dough conditioner; approved at permitted levels, with limited long-term human data.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Refined (enriched or bleached) flourRefined grainLimited risk
Bran and germ are removed, so it’s low in fibre; some vitamins are added back.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98