/ / S&B Golden Curry Sauce Mix 2.2 lbs (1kg)

S&B Golden Curry Sauce Mix 2.2 lbs (1kg)

Contains hydrogenated rapeseed oil

This Japanese curry sauce mix has a full ingredient list and is made in Japan. It contains hydrogenated rapeseed oil and provides 840 mg sodium per 20 g serving.

No artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gums or thickenersDairy-freeVegetarianContains wheat
$23.20 2.2 lbs (1kg) · lowest price at MTC Kitchen
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
100caloriesPer serving · 1/50 pkg. (20g)
Protein
2g▲
Fiber
1g▲
Added sugar
1g▼
Sodium
840mg▼
Saturated fat
1.5g▼
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Wheat flour, Vegetable oils (Palm oil, Hydrogenated rapeseed oil), Salt, Curry powder, Sugar, Caramel color, Monosodium glutamate, Sucrose fatty acid esters, Onion powder, Pepper, Chili pepper, Malic acid, Garlic, Disodium guanylate, Disodium inosinate, Celery seed, Mustard
40 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as ready meals, soups, saucesHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%36
Ingredients · counts 25%40
Processing · counts 15%25
Sourcing · counts 10%40
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 40
Nutrition 36 · Compared with other ready meals and sauces: more sodium (840 mg), more saturated fat (1.5 g), more fiber (1 g) per 1/50 pkg.
Ingredients 40 · Vegetable oils (hydrogenated oil, −40); Sugar, 5th ingredient (added sugar, −8); Caramel colour (additive, −4); 2 more
Processing 25 · A formulated curry mix with hydrogenated oil, color, emulsifiers and flavor enhancers.
Sourcing 40 · Made in Japan, but sourcing of the flour, sugar and oils is not stated.
Transparency 65 · The full ingredient list is specific; ingredient sourcing details are limited.
Hydrogenated rapeseed oil
840 mg sodium per serving
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−48 for vegetable oils, sugar
Varies by additive−12 for caramel colour, msg, disodium inosinate or guanylate
Scored Oct 22, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Wheat flour Vegetable oils (Palm oil, Hydrogenated rapeseed oil) Salt Curry powder Sugar Caramel color Monosodium glutamate Sucrose fatty acid esters Onion powder Pepper Chili pepper Malic acid Garlic Disodium guanylate Disodium inosinate Celery seed Mustard
17 ingredients 1 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives8 additives · 1 high risk
Hydrogenated oilFatHigh risk
Partially hydrogenated oils are a source of artificial trans fat, which the FDA removed from the safe list in 2015.
Caramel colour (E150)ColourLimited risk
Some types (E150c, E150d) can contain 4-MEI, which IARC lists as possibly carcinogenic (Group 2B); levels are regulated.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Palm oilFatLimited risk
High in saturated fat, and refining can form contaminants (glycidyl esters) that EFSA flagged in 2016.
MSG (monosodium glutamate) (E621)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Considered safe; EFSA set an acceptable daily intake in 2017, and some people report short-lived symptoms.
Disodium inosinate or guanylate (E627, E631)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Usually paired with MSG; a source of purines, which people with gout are told to limit.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Malic acid (E296)AcidNo risk
The natural acid in apples; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98