/ / Cherry Shorties

Cherry Shorties

Contains high fructose corn syrup

These bite-sized cherry chews have 10 g added sugar per serving. They also contain high fructose corn syrup, artificial colors, wheat and soy.

Seed-oil freeNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesVegetarianLow sodiumContains soyContains wheatContains corn
$16.00 lowest price at Licorice.com
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
90caloriesPer serving · 7 Pieces (30g)
Protein
1g
Fiber
—
Added sugar
10g▼
Sodium
35mg▲
Saturated fat
—
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat, Iron, Niacin, Thiamin, Riboflavin & Folic Acid), Corn Syrup, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Sugar, Water, Modified Food Starch (Corn), Natural & Artificial Flavor, Apple Juice Concentrate, Citric Acid, Malic Acid, Salt, Soy Lecithin, Glycerin, Soy Mono Diglycerides, Palm Oil, Ascorbic Acid, Red 3, Red 40
29 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as snacks, sweets, dessertsMedium confidence · Scored on 8 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 30%49
Ingredients · counts 30%4
Processing · counts 25%25
Sourcing · counts 5%35
Transparency · counts 10%50
Why it scores 29
Nutrition 49 · Compared with other snacks and sweets: less sodium (35 mg); 10 g added sugar per 7 Pieces
Ingredients 4 · Corn syrup, 2nd ingredient (added sugar, −20); High fructose corn syrup, 3rd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Red 3 (synthetic dye, −15); 5 more
Processing 25 · Refined flour, syrups, flavorings, emulsifiers and artificial colors
Sourcing 35 · Refined flour and syrups are the main ingredients; no sourcing claims
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but flavors are not specified
10 g added sugar
Contains high fructose corn syrup
Contains Red 3 and Red 40
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−52 for corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, enriched wheat flour and 1 more
Moderate, evolving−30 for red 3, red 40
Varies by additive−14 for artificial flavours, mono- and diglycerides
Scored Oct 21, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat, Iron, Niacin, Thiamin, Riboflavin & Folic Acid) Corn Syrup High Fructose Corn Syrup Sugar Water Modified Food Starch (Corn) Natural & Artificial Flavor Apple Juice Concentrate Citric Acid Malic Acid Salt Soy Lecithin Glycerin Soy Mono Diglycerides Palm Oil Ascorbic Acid Red 3 Red 40
18 ingredients 3 to watch7 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives13 additives · 1 high risk
Red 3 (erythrosine) (E127)ColourHigh risk
The FDA revoked its use in food in 2025 (effective 2027) after it caused thyroid tumours in male rats.
Red 40 (Allura red) (E129)ColourModerate risk
Linked to hyperactivity in some children in a 2007 UK study; in the EU it must carry a warning label.
Artificial flavoursFlavouringModerate risk
Undisclosed synthetic compounds; the FDA delisted seven synthetic flavours in 2018 after cancer findings in animals.
High-fructose corn syrupAdded sugarModerate risk
Added sugar that is cheap to add in large amounts; high intake is linked to fatty liver and weight gain.
Palm oilFatLimited risk
High in saturated fat, and refining can form contaminants (glycidyl esters) that EFSA flagged in 2016.
Mono- and diglycerides (E471)EmulsifierLimited risk
Can carry traces of trans fat; a 2023 French cohort study associated higher intake with heart disease.
Modified starch (E14xx)ThickenerLimited risk
Chemically treated starch; considered safe, but a marker of more processed food.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Refined (enriched or bleached) flourRefined grainLimited risk
Bran and germ are removed, so it’s low in fibre; some vitamins are added back.
Lecithin (E322)EmulsifierNo risk
From soy or sunflower; a natural emulsifier EFSA considers safe.
Citric acid (E330)AcidNo risk
Usually made by fermentation; considered safe.
Ascorbic acid (vitamin C) (E300)AntioxidantNo risk
Vitamin C, used to keep colour and freshness; safe.
Malic acid (E296)AcidNo risk
The natural acid in apples; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00