/ / Buttermilk Wheat n Malt Pancake (add water only)

Buttermilk Wheat n Malt Pancake (add water only)

Contains sugar

A pancake mix with whole wheat, unbleached and enriched wheat flours, plus buttermilk and dried egg. It contains sugar and refined wheat flour; add water to prepare.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesVegetarianContains dairyContains eggsContains wheatContains corn
$10.00 1 lb or 1.5 lb · lowest price at Homestead Mills
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
160caloriesPer serving · 40g (approx. 1/3 cup)
Protein
5g
Fiber
2g
Added sugar
—▼
Sodium
280mg▼
Saturated fat
1g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Whole wheat flour, unbleached wheat flour, enriched wheat flour, buttermilk powder, sugar, buttermilk shortening powder, dried egg powder, aluminum-free baking powder (calcium phosphate, baking soda, corn starch), malt powder, salt
59 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%53
Ingredients · counts 20%82
Processing · counts 15%55
Sourcing · counts 15%40
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 59
Nutrition 53 · Compared with other grain foods: more sodium (280 mg); 5 g added sugar per 40g
Ingredients 82 · Added phosphates (additive, −10); Sugar, 5th ingredient (added sugar, −8); no dyes or artificial sweeteners
Processing 55 · A formulated dry mix with several flours, sugar and baking powder
Sourcing 40 · Flours and sugar are listed, but their origins and production are not stated
Transparency 65 · Complete ingredient list; no specific sourcing or production claims
Contains sugar and refined wheat flour
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−8 for sugar
Varies by additive−10 for added phosphates
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Whole wheat flour Unbleached wheat flour Enriched wheat flour Buttermilk powder Sugar Buttermilk shortening powder Dried egg powder Aluminum-free baking powder (calcium phosphate, baking soda, corn starch) Malt powder Salt
10 ingredients 1 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives3 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Refined (enriched or bleached) flourRefined grainLimited risk
Bran and germ are removed, so it’s low in fibre; some vitamins are added back.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98