/ / gfJules Gluten Free Birthday Cake Mix

gfJules Gluten Free Birthday Cake Mix

Contains cane sugar

This vegan cake mix is certified gluten-free by GFCO and made in a dedicated gluten-free facility. Each 30 g serving contains 14 g added sugar.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesCertified gluten-freeDairy-freeVegetarianContains corn
$8.99 lowest price at gfJules
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
110caloriesPer serving · 1/2 dry mix (30 g)
Protein
1g
Fiber
0g▼
Added sugar
14g▼
Sodium
170mg▼
Saturated fat
0g▲
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Cane Sugar, Modified Tapioca Starch, Potato Starch, Cornstarch, White Rice Flour, Corn Flour, Xanthan Gum, Baking Powder (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, cornstarch, monocalcium phosphate), Vanilla Powder (dextrose, natural flavor), Sea Salt, Baking Soda
36 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as snacks, sweets, dessertsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs, 4 claims verified
Nutrition · counts 30%30
Ingredients · counts 30%42
Processing · counts 25%25
Sourcing · counts 5%35
Transparency · counts 10%65
Why it scores 36
Nutrition 30 · Compared with other snacks and sweets: less saturated fat (0 g), more sodium (170 mg); 14 g added sugar per 1/2 dry mix
Ingredients 42 · Cane sugar, 1st ingredient (added sugar, −20); Added phosphates (additive, −10); Modified tapioca starch (refined starch, −6); 4 more
Processing 25 · Refined starches, xanthan gum and flavoring make this a formulated baking mix.
Sourcing 35 · Refined sugar and starches are main ingredients; their sourcing is not stated.
Transparency 65 · Full ingredient list and specific gluten-free and allergen-free claims.
14 g added sugar per serving
Contains modified starches and xanthan gum
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−44 for cane sugar, modified tapioca starch, potato starch and 2 more
Varies by additive−14 for added phosphates, natural flavours
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Cane Sugar Modified Tapioca Starch Potato Starch Cornstarch White Rice Flour Corn Flour Xanthan Gum Baking Powder (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, cornstarch, monocalcium phosphate) Vanilla Powder (dextrose, natural flavor) Sea Salt Baking Soda
11 ingredients 6 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives5 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Modified starch (E14xx)ThickenerLimited risk
Chemically treated starch; considered safe, but a marker of more processed food.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00