/ / Baking Powder, Double Acting, Aluminum Free

Baking Powder, Double Acting, Aluminum Free

Contains sodium acid pyrophosphate

This aluminum-free baking powder contains four listed ingredients, including sodium acid pyrophosphate and corn starch. The description says it reacts quickly after mixing, so baked goods should go into the oven promptly.

Seed-oil freeNo added sugarNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo gluten ingredientsContains corn
$4.99 lowest price at Kalustyan's
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts

Not available yet. We only show numbers printed on the product’s label or its product page, and we couldn’t read them for this product.

Ingredients: sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, corn starch, monocalcium phosphate
71 / 100
Good Scored automatically
Weighted as salt, spices, baking staplesLow confidence · Scored on 2 of 11 inputs
Nutrition facts not available. Scored on its ingredients, processing, sourcing and transparency; the Nutrition part is neutral until we can read the label.Your product? Claim this listing to add the label and it’s scored in full.
Nutrition · counts 5%50
Ingredients · counts 45%90
Processing · counts 20%55
Sourcing · counts 10%40
Transparency · counts 20%65
Why it scores 71
Nutrition 50 · Used in small amounts, so nutrition barely counts
Ingredients 90 · Added phosphates (additive, −10); no dyes or artificial sweeteners
Processing 55 · A formulated blend of leavening salts and corn starch
Sourcing 40 · Commodity ingredients; where they come from is not stated
Transparency 65 · Complete ingredient list, with no specific origin or sourcing claims
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−10 for added phosphates
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Sodium acid pyrophosphate Sodium bicarbonate Corn starch Monocalcium phosphate
4 ingredients 1 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives1 additive · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98