/ / Schar Plain Bagels

Schar Plain Bagels

Contains corn starch

These gluten-free bagels provide 7 g of fiber each. They contain corn and rice starch, sunflower oil and sugar; the ingredient list also names tartaric acid as a preservative despite the no-preservatives claim.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesNo phosphatesGluten-free (label)Dairy-freeContains soyContains corn
$6.59 lowest price at GlutenFreePalace
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
290caloriesPer serving · 1 bagel (100g)
Protein
7g
Fiber
7g
Added sugar
1g
Sodium
270mg
Saturated fat
0g
From the product label
Ingredients: water, corn starch, rice flour, buckwheat flour, sugar, psyllium seed husks (vegetable fiber), rice starch, yeast, sunflower oil, soy protein, sugar syrup, salt, modified cellulose, apple extract, tartaric acid (preservative)
On Open Food FactsNutri-Score CNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
Product details
Shelf life2-3 days refrigerated after opening
“Once opened, refrigerate in an airtight bag or container and use within 2-3 days.” — the product page
ShippingSome products ship frozenShips frozen
“Some of our products are shipped frozen, depending on the weather and/or distance to travel.” — the brand’s shipping and store pages
62 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%74
Ingredients · counts 20%82
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 62
Nutrition 74 · Typical for grain foods per 1 bagel
Ingredients 82 · Sunflower oil, 9th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Sugar, 5th ingredient (added sugar, −8); no dyes or artificial sweeteners
Processing 30 · Starch-heavy formulation with sugar, sunflower oil and modified cellulose
Sourcing 35 · Main ingredients include refined starches; their origin is not stated
Transparency 65 · Complete ingredient list and nutrition values; no specific sourcing claims
Contains corn and rice starch
Contains sunflower oil
Contains sugar and sugar syrup
Lists tartaric acid as a preservative
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−8 for sugar
ClearShelf standard−10 for sunflower oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Water Corn starch Rice flour Buckwheat flour Sugar Psyllium seed husks (vegetable fiber) Rice starch Yeast Sunflower oil Soy protein Sugar syrup Salt Modified cellulose Apple extract Tartaric acid (preservative)
15 ingredients 4 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives2 additives · 2 limited risk
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98