/ / Soft White Loaf

Soft White Loaf

Contains multiple gums

This vegan sliced loaf provides 5 g of fiber per 40 g slice. It contains several gums and preservatives, along with golden syrup.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo added nitritesNo phosphatesDairy-freeVegetarianLow sodiumContains corn
$8.99 lowest price at Promise Gluten Free US
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
80caloriesPer serving · 1 slice (40 g)
Protein
1g▼
Fiber
5g▲
Added sugar
—
Sodium
105mg
Saturated fat
0g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From Open Food Facts (by barcode)
Ingredients: Water, Tapioca Starch, Rice Flour, Cellulose, Hydroxypropyl Methyl Cellulose, Carboxymethyl Cellulose, Methyl Cellulose, Xanthan Gum, Potato Starch, Psyllium Husk Powder, Yeast, Glycerol, Rice Starch, Wholegrain Maize Flour, Quinoa, Rapeseed Oil, Golden Syrup, Chia Seed, Poppy Seed, Maize Starch, Prune Purée, Salt, Sodium Propionate, Sorbic Acid, Spirit Vinegar
61 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%81
Ingredients · counts 20%68
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 61
Nutrition 81 · Compared with other grain foods: more fiber (5 g), less protein (1 g) per 1 slice
Ingredients 68 · Rapeseed oil, 16th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (additive, −10); Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (additive, −4); 2 more
Processing 30 · Starch-based bread with several gums, glycerol and preservatives
Sourcing 35 · Refined starches and flour are the main ingredients; sourcing is not stated
Transparency 65 · Full ingredient list, but no specific sourcing or production claims
Contains multiple gums and preservatives
Contains golden syrup
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−22 for carboxymethylcellulose, sorbates, calcium propionate and 1 more
ClearShelf standard−10 for rapeseed oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 23, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Water Tapioca Starch Rice Flour Cellulose Hydroxypropyl Methyl Cellulose Carboxymethyl Cellulose Methyl Cellulose Xanthan Gum Potato Starch Psyllium Husk Powder Yeast Glycerol Rice Starch Wholegrain Maize Flour Quinoa Rapeseed Oil Golden Syrup Chia Seed Poppy Seed Maize Starch Prune Purée Salt Sodium Propionate Sorbic Acid Spirit Vinegar
25 ingredients 6 to watch
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives7 additives · 1 moderate risk
Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (E466)ThickenerModerate risk
Changed gut bacteria in mice and, in a small 2022 human study, altered the gut microbiome.
Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (E200–E203)PreservativeLimited risk
Generally well tolerated; EFSA re-evaluated it in 2015 and kept it approved, though it can irritate sensitive skin.
Calcium propionate (E282)PreservativeLimited risk
Common bread preservative; a 2019 human study found it raised insulin-related hormones after a meal.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Methylcellulose (E461)ThickenerLimited risk
Plant-fibre thickener common in meat alternatives; considered safe, a marker of processed food.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98