/ / Thomas' Blueberry English Muffins, 6 Count

Thomas' Blueberry English Muffins, 6 Count

Contains artificial colors

These English muffins contain real dried blueberries and provide 4 g added sugar per muffin. They also contain preservatives, sucralose, artificial colors and wheat, soy and milk.

No natural flavorsNo added nitritesNo phosphatesVegetarianContains dairyContains soyContains wheat
$5.60 6 count · lowest price at Water Butlers
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
160caloriesPer serving · 1 muffin (61g)
Protein
5g
Fiber
1g▼
Added sugar
4g▼
Sodium
230mg▼
Saturated fat
0g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Enriched wheat flour [flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamin mononitrate (vitamin B1), riboflavin (vitamin B2), folic acid], water, sugar, farina, yeast, wheat gluten, salt, wheat starch, calcium propionate and sorbic acid (to preserve freshness), natural & artificial flavors, soybean oil, dried blueberries, sunflower oil, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, sucralose, soy lecithin, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake, soy, whey
35 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%52
Ingredients · counts 20%0
Processing · counts 15%25
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 35
Nutrition 52 · Compared with other grain foods: less fiber (1 g), less whole grain (0%); 4 g added sugar per 1 muffin
Ingredients 0 · Sugar, 3rd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Blue 1 (synthetic dye, −15); Blue 2 (synthetic dye, −15); 6 more
Processing 25 · Enriched flour, preservatives, gums, sucralose and artificial colors.
Sourcing 35 · Refined flour, sugar and soybean oil have no stated sourcing.
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but flavors are not specified.
4 g added sugar
Contains soybean oil
Contains sucralose
Contains artificial colors
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−20 for sugar
Moderate, evolving−30 for blue 1, blue 2
Varies by additive−28 for carboxymethylcellulose, artificial flavours, sorbates and 1 more
Mixed evidence−12 for sucralose
ClearShelf standard−10 for soybean oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Enriched wheat flour [flour Malted barley flour Niacin Reduced iron Thiamin mononitrate (vitamin B1) Riboflavin (vitamin B2) Folic acid] Water Sugar Farina Yeast Wheat gluten Salt Wheat starch Calcium propionate and sorbic acid (to preserve freshness) Natural & artificial flavors Soybean oil Dried blueberries Sunflower oil Cellulose gum Xanthan gum Sucralose Soy lecithin Blue 1 Lake Blue 2 Lake Red 40 Lake Soy Whey
28 ingredients 5 to watch6 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives13 additives · 4 moderate risk
Red 40 (Allura red) (E129)ColourModerate risk
Linked to hyperactivity in some children in a 2007 UK study; in the EU it must carry a warning label.
Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (E466)ThickenerModerate risk
Changed gut bacteria in mice and, in a small 2022 human study, altered the gut microbiome.
Sucralose (E955)SweetenerModerate risk
Studies suggest it can alter gut bacteria and glucose response; a 2023 lab study found a breakdown product genotoxic.
Artificial flavoursFlavouringModerate risk
Undisclosed synthetic compounds; the FDA delisted seven synthetic flavours in 2018 after cancer findings in animals.
Blue 1 (brilliant blue) (E133)ColourLimited risk
Synthetic dye; approved in the US and EU with few safety concerns at permitted levels, and adds no nutrition.
Blue 2 (indigo carmine) (E132)ColourLimited risk
Synthetic dye; approved with an acceptable daily intake, though some animal data are limited.
Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (E200–E203)PreservativeLimited risk
Generally well tolerated; EFSA re-evaluated it in 2015 and kept it approved, though it can irritate sensitive skin.
Calcium propionate (E282)PreservativeLimited risk
Common bread preservative; a 2019 human study found it raised insulin-related hormones after a meal.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Refined (enriched or bleached) flourRefined grainLimited risk
Bran and germ are removed, so it’s low in fibre; some vitamins are added back.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Lecithin (E322)EmulsifierNo risk
From soy or sunflower; a natural emulsifier EFSA considers safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00